ARCA Re/Max Getting Ready For Second Race of Season

David PhillipsAnalyst IMarch 28, 2009

NASHVILLE, TN - AUGUST 12:  Frank Kimmel, driver of the #46 Pork The Other White Meat-Mighty EZY Ford, leads a group of cars during the ARCA RE/MAX 200 on August 12, 2006 at the Nashville Superspeedway in Nashville, Tennessee.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images for NASCAR)

The ARCA Re/Max Series takes to the track on April 5 at 2 PM (EST) at the Salem Speedway in Salem, IN., for the 85th running of Kentuckiana Ford Dealers 200. The entire entry list can be viewed here.



Frank Kimmel, nine-time ARCA Series champion, nine-time winner and defending winner of this race, will be entering the race also.

Ken Schrader, also a past winner of the event, is entered making the only two defending winners entered.

Past Re/Max Series winners at Salem include: NASCAR Cup champion Bobby Allison, six-time ARCA national champ Iggy Katona, three-time series champs Jack Bowsher and Tim Steele, '52 Indy 500 winner Troy Ruttman, and USAC stock car veteran/champion Don White.

At Salem, 27 ARCA races have been won from the pole.

Ron Cox will slide through the window of the No. 23 Hixson Motorsports Chevrolet for the first time in three and half years for the April 5 running. While Cox has continued to race on a part-time basis for the last five years, he has not raced the No. 23 since August of 2005.

Brent Sherman will make a return to the series for this race as well.

Sherman, a rising star in the series in the early 2000's, has not started an ARCA race since winning at Michigan International Speedway in 2006. He has entered the Salem event in a Doug Stringer-owned No. 90 Tracker's Lodge Chevrolet.

Ken Schrader has 15 career series victories over the years, just one of which came at Salem 10 years ago in the fall of 1999, he is also a non regular entered in the race.

Patrick Sheltra make's his return after that horrible crash at Daytona.

Points will shift after the race, as neither Joey Logano, Daytona winner James Buescher, John Wes Townley, or Ed Kennedy are entered right now.


Manufactures Breakdown

Dodge: 7

Chevy: 10

Ford: 10

Toyota: 4 (All Eddie Sharp Racing)  


The race will also not be on TV, and it's a shame !!

Let's go racing ARCA-holics