Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Andres Iniesta on Ballon d'Or Final 3

Adrian AgiusAnalyst INovember 29, 2012

BARCELONA, SPAIN - JANUARY 15:  Lionel Messi of FC Barcelona holds the Ballon d'Or trophy prior to the La Liga match between FC Barcelona and Real Betis Balompie at Camp Nou on January 15, 2012 in Barcelona, Spain.  (Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images)
David Ramos/Getty Images

The prestigious FIFA Balon D'or final three have been announced, and it is no surprise to see the La Liga dominating the list yet again. This year, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Andres Iniesta form the final three candidates leading up to the award announcement.

According to the FIFA websiteMessi, Ronaldo and Iniesta form the list for the best three male players in the world. In addition to the Ballon d'Or, the Women’s Player of the Year award is set to be announced with Marta, Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan shortlisted.

Aside from announcing the respective best male and female players in the world, the event will recognize a number of other achievements. 

The FIFA Puskas award for the best goal of the year will be contested by Atletico Madrid's Ramadel Falcao, Santos' Neymar and Fenerbache's Miroslav Stoch.

Both the male and female coaches of the year will also be announced. Shortlisted for the Coach of the Year for men’s football award are: Vincente Del Bosque, Jose Mourinho and Pep Guardiola. The Coach of the Year for women’s football award comprises Bruno Bini, Norio Sasaki and Pia Sundhage.

In addition to individual achievements, the ceremony will recognize a team referred to as the FIFA FIFPro World XI. This team comprises of the best players in the world (many of which were shortlisted for the Ballon d'Or) and will be formed from 55 players featuring five goalkeepers, 20 defenders and 15 midfielders and 15 forwards previously announced.

Lionel Messi is once again the hot favourite to take home his fourth Ballon D'or. The Argentine has collected the award for the previous three years and after impressing once again for club—and this time country—will prove hard to beat. In saying that if there is anyone who would be more deserving of the award, it would be Cristiano Ronaldo or Andres Iniesta. So in that sense, it is poised perfectly.

All the awards will be presented at the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala at the Kongresshaus in Zurich on 7 January 2013.

Who do you think will take home the main prize?