World MMA Awards: Finalists Announced for 2012 Awards

Craig AmosFeatured ColumnistOctober 29, 2012

August 18, 2012; San Diego, CA, USA;   Sarah Kaufman (blue shirt) and  Ronda Rousey (black shirt) during their Strikeforce MMA women's bantamweight title bout at the Valley View Casino Center. Rousey won in 54 seconds of the first round. Mandatory Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea-US PRESSWIRE
Jayne Kamin-Oncea-US PRESSWIRE

It's just about time for Halloween.

That not only means ghouls, goblins and soon-to-be-discounted candy, it also means the year is winding down, just two months remaining before our calendars flip.

Ah yes, the end of the year. 

A time to reflect on long since broken resolutions, prepare for unyielding, merciless snowfall (for some of us anyway) and, of course, look ahead to award season.

No, I'm not talk about the Academy Awards.

I'm talking about the World MMA Awards, coordinated by Fighters Only

The ceremony, which is set for Las Vegas, January, 2013, will dish out the following accolades:

  • Charles "Mask" Lewis Fighter of the Year
  • Female Fighter of the Year
  • Breakthrough Fighter of the Year
  • International Fighter of the Year
  • Fight of the Year
  • Knockout of the Year
  • Submission of the Year
  • Comeback of the Year
  • Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year
  • Leading Man of the year
  • Best Promotion
  • Gym of the Year
  • Personality of the Year
  • Referee of the Year
  • Ringcard Girl of the Year
  • Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand
  • Best Technical Clothing Brand
  • Best Technical Equipment
  • Media Source of the Year
  • Journalist of the Year

For a list of nominees, click here

And if you'd like to have your say regarding who deserves each honor, click here to cast your vote (Fighters Only registration required).

According to MMAjunkie, the ceremony will also include a Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be decided upon by a panel of industry insiders.

While you'll find no shortage of MMA superstars dotting the various ballots, it's Ronda Rousey who will have the best chance of stealing the show. The Strikeforce champ is nominated for four awards, including Fighter of the Year, Female Fighter of the Year, Breakthrough Fighter of the Year and Submission of the Year.

That means there is a very real chance Ronda-mania extends beyond the temporal confines of 2012, the year in which she has taken the MMA world by storm.

The venue of the ceremony has yet to be confirmed.