Ranking Miguel Cabrera's Season Among Past Triple Crown Winners

« Prev
1 of 14
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ranking Miguel Cabrera's Season Among Past Triple Crown Winners
Ed Zurga/Getty Images

Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers finished the 2012 MLB season with a .330 batting average, 44 home runs and 139 RBI, earning himself the elusive Triple Crown. 

Cabrera completed the first Triple Crown since 1967, and only the 12th since 1920, when RBI became an official statistic. 

Where does Miguel Cabrera rank among the other 11 winners of the Triple Crown? The achievements of each Triple Crown winner can be quantified and compared using the Triple Crown Score (TCS), a formula I created just for this occasion. Here's how it is calculated:

TCS = [ (BA x 1000 - 300) + HR + RBI ] / 3

The first adjustment to batting average is to make it a whole number and the second adjustment is because no Triple Crown winner batted below .300 for the season. As a result of these two adjustments, the TCS is on a scale of approximately 0-100, as a Triple Crown winner could conceivably earn a TCS of greater than 100. 

So now let's take a look at the 12 Triple Crown seasons, using this new statistic to quantify and rank the winners, in ascending order from lowest to highest TCS. That should give us a good idea of who had the best Triple Crown season of baseball's modern era, and where Miguel Cabrera ranks among them.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.