Hardcore Welsh Fans Cycle to Stade De France for Six Nations

Daniel GoochAnalyst IFebruary 27, 2009

Six die hard Welsh rugby fans have got on their bikes and cycled from the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff (in Wales) to the Stade de France in Paris, a total of 450 km.

I've always thought that the easiest way to get to Paris wouldn't include a bike.

Anyway, they are trying to get to the stadium to watch the six nations match between France and Wales for a Friday night match.

They are all wearing matching welsh flag tops (as you can see from the photo,) and  Nicole Cooke masks (the Welsh Olympic gold medalist).

They left Cardiff at 6 AM on Thursday morning, hoping they would get to Paris in time.

They are hoping to see Wales make history by equalling England and France's joint record of nine consecutive tournament wins.

Show your support for them here.

Look out for Benoit Baby, the fly half for France, and Martyn Williams, the flanker for Wales, as he will also be setting a record of 46 Five or Six Nations appearance, passing the mark set by legendary Wales and Lions scrum-half Gareth Edwards.


France: Maxime Medard (Toulouse); Julien Malzieu (Clermont-Auvergne), Mathieu Bastareaud (Stade Francais), Yannick Jauzion, Cedric Heymans (both Toulouse); Benoit Baby (Clermont-Auvergne), Morgan Parra (Bourgoin); Fabien Barcella (Biarritz), Dimitri Szarzewski, Sylvain Marconnet (both Stade Francais), Lionel Nallet (Castres, capt), Sebastien Chabal (Sale), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz).

Replacements:Benjamin Kayser (Leicester), Thomas Domingo (Clermont-Auvergne), Romain Millo-Chluski (Toulouse), Louis Picamoles (Montpellier), Sebastien Tillous-Borde (Castres), Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Clement Poitrenaud (Toulouse).


Wales: Lee Byrne (Ospreys); Leigh Halfpenny, Tom Shanklin, Jamie Roberts (all three Cardiff Blues), Shane Williams (Ospreys); Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Michael Phillips (Ospreys); Gethin Jenkins (Blues), Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Ian Gough, Alun Wyn Jones, Ryan Jones (all three Ospreys, capt), Martyn Williams, Andy Powell (both Blues).

Replacements: Huw Bennett (Ospreys), John Yapp (Blues), Luke Charteris (Newport Gwent Dragons), Dafydd Jones (Scarlets), Dwayne Peel (Sale), James Hook, Gavin Henson (both Ospreys).

Referee: Mark Lawrence (South Africa)


Source: BBC Web site