Breaking News: U.S. Olympian Errol Spence Reinstated to Olympic Tournament

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Breaking News: U.S. Olympian Errol Spence Reinstated to Olympic Tournament
Scott Heavey/Getty Images

In a shocking turn of events, Errol Spence, who was robbed earlier today in a fight—it appeared that he clearly deserved to win—has been reinstated into the Olympic tournament by the AIBA. 

In this e-mail, the AIBA states that the decision is being overturned in the bout because Spence's opponent repeatedly held but had minimal warnings and no point deductions and wasn't penalized for spitting out his mouthpiece. 

Had these fouls been properly officiated, Spence would've won 15-13.

This comes on the heels of one of the most controversial stretches of the Olympics ever, where it seems that decisions are routinely going the wrong way and that the refereeing has been awful.

For Team USA, this is a welcome reprieve after it has been on the short end of the stick numerous times throughout this Olympic tournament. 

So, Spence moves on to the quarterfinals, and with a victory, he will advance to the medal rounds. He's a nice kid and a terrific fighter, and he deserves the shot after not getting a fair shake initially.

Follow me on Twitter: @RalphLongo 

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

Boxing

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.