2012 Summer Olympics

Olympic Gymnastics: The Tiebreaker Rule That Denied Aly Raisman a Bronze Medal

LONDON, ENGLAND - AUGUST 02:  Silver medalist Victoria Komova of Russia, gold medalist Gabrielle Douglas of the United States and bronze medalist Aliya Mustafina of Russia pose during the medal ceremony in the Artistic Gymnastics Women's Individual All-Around final on Day 6 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at North Greenwich Arena on August 2, 2012 in London, England.  (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)
Ronald Martinez/Getty Images
Emily BayciContributor IIIAugust 2, 2012

When the 2012 Olympic women's gymnastics individual all-around final ended on Thursday in London, American Aly Raisman and Russian Aliya Mustafina were tied for third with scores of 59.566.

However, the bronze medal went to Mustafina alone. Raisman officially finished fourth.

Here's how the tiebreaker played out.

Mustafina and Raisman each scored a 59.566 in their four events. Mustafina took the bronze because of a tiebreak rule that was updated for this Olympics.

According to the Federation of International Gymnastics (FIG)'s Technical Regulations, which apply in the case of any ties: 

In case of a tie in points at any place in Competition II, the ranking will be determined by the following criteria:

1.  The gymnast with the highest sum of the final apparatus scores obtained will prevail (i.e. add the total of the 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 of the  highest final apparatus scores for men / the total of the 3, 2, 1 highest final apparatus scores for women.

2.  If they remain tied, the highest total E score by adding all apparatus will prevail.

3.  If they remain tied, the highest total D score by adding all apparatus will prevail.

4.  If they remain tied, the gymnasts will share the same classification.

Competition II refers to the individual all-around. The judges go by the criteria first to fourth, and if any one of the rules breaks the tie, then that gymnast wins.

The first piece of criteria was the only one necessary for Mustafina to break ahead of Raisman. The gymnasts each dropped their lowest score in competition—the balance beam for both of them.

Mustafina took a fall on the balance beam and scored a 13.633, while Raisman scored a 14.200. When those scores were dropped, Mustafina had a 45.933 total and Raisman had a 45.366.

Therefore, Mustafina earned the bronze medal, and Raisman was left empty-handed.

If Raisman and Mustafina had still been tied after the lowest score was dropped, all four execution scores would have been added together and the higher score would have won. If they were still tied after that, all four difficulty scores would have been added together and the higher score would have won. If after all that there was still a tie, the gymnasts would have shared the bronze medal.

That was not the case, and according to the rules, Mustafina rightfully beat out Raisman for the bronze.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices