World Series

MLB 2009 Division-By-Division Preview: MLB Awards (No. 7 Of 7)

Austin DrakeSenior Analyst IFebruary 22, 2009

Awards and Postseason Breakdown 
No. 7 of 7

My take on who will take this season’s awards and who will win it all.


American League 

Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers
2. Vladimir Guerrero, Los Angeles Angels 
Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox

Cy Young:        

1. Josh Beckett, Boston Red Sox
Roy Halladay, Toronto Blue Jays
3. Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners

Manager of the Year:  

Bob Geren, Oakland Athletics
2. Mike Scioscia, Los Angeles Angels 
Joe Girardi, New York Yankees

Rookie of the Year:  

David Price, Tampa Bay Rays
2. Matt Wieters, Baltimore Orioles
3. Nick Adenhart, Los Angeles Angels

Playoff Teams:  

New York Yankees
2. Los Angeles Angels
3. Detroit Tigers
WC. Boston Red Sox 

American League Champion:

National League 


1. Hanley Ramirez, Florida Marlins
2. Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals 
David Wright, New York Mets

Cy Young:  

1. Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants
2. Cole Hamels, Philadelphia Phillies
3. Rich Harden, Chicago Cubs

Manager of the Year:  

1. Bob Melvin, Arizona Diamondbacks
2. Fredi Gonzalez, Florida Marlins
3. Jerry Manuel, New York Mets

Rookie of the Year:  

1.Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
2. Carlos Carrasco, Philadelphia Phillies
3. Daniel Murphy, New York Mets 

Playoff Teams:  

1. New York Mets 
Chicago Cubs
3. Los Angeles Dodgers
WC. Arizona Diamonbacks 

National League Champion: CHICAGO CUBS 


2009 MLB World Series: Yankees vs. Cubs (NY in six) 


Thanks for reading my 2009 MLB Divisional Preview Series

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices