2012 Tour de France logo2012 Tour de France

Tour de France 2012 Stage 20 Results: Winner, Leaderboard and Highlights

PARIS, FRANCE - JULY 22:  Bradley Wiggins of Great Britain and SKY Procycling (C) celebrates on a processional lap alongside teammates (L-R) Edvald Boasson Hagen, Michael Rogers, Bernhard Eisel and Christian Knees after winning the 2012 Tour de France after the twentieth and final stage of the 2012 Tour de France, from Rambouillet to the Champs-Elysees on July 22, 2012 in Paris, France.  (Photo by Bryn Lennon/Getty Images)
Bryn Lennon/Getty Images
Richard LangfordCorrespondent IJuly 22, 2012

Bradley Wiggins is the first British cyclist to win the Tour de France, and he did so in dominant fashion.

Wiggins had been in firm control of this event since the early going, and his winning performance in Saturday's time time trial made Sunday's Champs-Elysees ride not much more than a victory lap.

Wiggins, 32, was not just content to take a victory lap. He still had work to do, as he wanted to make sure he did all he could to help his loyal Team Sky teammate Mark Cavendish capture the final stage, and Wiggins did just that.

He provided a nice leadout in the final stage to help pave the way for Cavendish's stage win, which was his fourth of this Tour and the 23rd of his career.

Wiggins' joy following his win was captured in this quote, offered up by the Associated Press' Jamey Keaton:

Cheers, have a safe journey home, don't get too drunk.

It's been a magical couple of weeks for the team and for British cycling. Some dreams come true. My mother over there, she's now—her son has won the Tour de France.

Wiggins better hurry up and enjoy this win, because he now has to quickly prepare to compete in the 2012 Olympics.


Stage 20 Highlights

Final Jersey Holders (courtesy letour.fr)

Yellow Jersey (general classification)—Bradley Wiggins

Green Jersey (points classification)—Peter Sagan

Polka Dot Jersey (king of the mountains)—Thomas Voeckler

White Jersey (young rider classification)—Tejay van Garderen

Winning Team—Radioshack Nissan


Final General Classification Standings (courtesy letour.fr)


Wiggins, Bradley

Sky Procycling

87:34: 47


Froome, Christopher

Sky Procycling

+ 03:21


Nibali, Vincenzo


+ 06:19


Van den Broeck, Jurgen


+ 10:15


Van Garderen, Tejay


+ 11:04


Zubeldia, Haimar


+ 15:41


Evans, Cadel


+ 15:49


Rolland, Pierre


+ 16:26


Brajkovic, Janez


+ 16:33


Pinot, Thibaut


+ 17:17

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices