Facts About The WWE Championship

Adrian StaehleSenior Analyst IFebruary 18, 2009

The WWE Championship has a lot of history and facts about it and I wanted to point out some you might have not known.

The WWE title will be 46 years old on April 29th, 2009.

There have been 36 different WWE Champs (In Order):1.Buddy Rogers 2.Bruno Sammartino 3.Ivan Koloff 4.Pedro Morales 5. Stan Stasiak 6.Billy Graham 7.Bob Backlund 8.Iron Shiek 9.Hulk Hogan 10.Andre the Giant 11.Randy Savage 12.Ultimate Warrior 13.Sgt. Slaughter 14.Undertaker 15.Ric Flair 16.Bret Hart 17.Yokozuna 18.Diesel 19.HBK 20.Sid 21.SCSA 22.Kane 23.The Rock 24.Mankind 25.Mr.McMahon 26.Triple H 27.Big Show 28.Kurt Angle 29.Chris Jericho 30.Brock Lesnar 31.Eddie Guerrero 32.JBL 33.John Cena 34.Edge 35.RVD 36.Randy Orton 37.Jeff Hardy

The WWE title has changed hands in 49 different cities, 24 different states, and three different countries.

The title has changed most times in the state of New York - 16. It has changed in the city the most is New York, New York 12 times.

There have been 81 title changes for the WWE title.

Title changes by decades- '60s-2 ('63-2)                                                          

'70s-6 ('71-2,'73-2,'77-1,'78-1)                                                                       

'80s-5 ('83-1,'84-1,'88-2,'89-1)                                                                     

'90s-40 ('90-1,'92-4,'93-4,'94-3,'95-1,'96-2,'97-6,'98-4,'99-12)                            

'00s-30 ('00-5,'01-5,'02-7,'03-3,'04-1,'05-1,'06-5,'07-3,'08-3,'09-2)

Top 5 Most Title Changes in a Year: 1. 1999-12 2. 2002-7 3. 1997-6 3.  2000, 01, and 2006-5 4. 1991, 1992, 1998, and 1998-4 5. 21994, 2003, and 2008-3                     

Top 5 To Be WWE Champs The Most: 1. Triple H-8 2. The Rock-7 3. Hogan and Stone Cold Steve Austin-6 4. Bret Hart 5. Undertaker, Kurt Angle and Edge-4

Top 5 Shortest Title Reigns: 1. Yokozuna (2 minutes) 2. Triple H and Randy Orton (30 minutes) 3. Kane, Mankind, and Bret Hart (1 day) 4. Bob Backlund (3 days) 5. Mankind (1 week)

Top 5 Longest Title Reigns: 1. Bruno Sammartino (7 years) 2. Bob Backlund (5 years) 3. Bruno Sammartino and Hulk Hogan (4 years) 4. Pedro Morales (2 years) 5. John Cena (1 year 1 week)

17 wrestlers have only won the title once- Rogers, Koloff, Morales, Stasiak, Graham, Iron Sheik, Andre the Giant, Warrior, Sgt. Slaughter, Diesel, Kane, Chris Jericho, Eddie Guerrero, JBL, RVD, Jeff Hardy.

7 wrestlers have won it twice- Sammartiino, Backlund, Savage, Flair, Yokozuna, Sid, Big Show, Randy Orton

4 wrestlers have won it three times- HBK, Mankind, Lesnar, Cena

3 wrestlers have one it four times- Undertaker, Angle, Edge

1 wrestler has one it five times- Bret Hart

2 wrestlers has one it six times- Hulk Hogan and Stone Cold Steve Austin

1 wrestler has has one it seven times- The Rock

1 wrestler has one it eight times- Triple HHH

The most lost titles month by month from greatest to smallest: 1. January and April-11 2. November-10 3. February-9 4. March and December-7 5. June and September-6 6. October-5 7. May-4 8. August-3 9. July-2

If you have any of your own send a comment to let me know.