2012 British Open logo2012 British Open

British Open 2012 Tee Times: When You Can Catch Top Golfers in Round 2

Will OsgoodAnalyst IJuly 20, 2012

British Open 2012 Tee Times: When You Can Catch Top Golfers in Round 2

1 of 15

    Thursday at Royal Lytham and St. Annes went anything other than according to plan. Players were assaulting the scoreboard as is rarely seen at an Open Championship. 

    Adam Scott, Zach Johnson and a handful of other notable players showed why they are the best in the world. The action continues Friday at 4:30/1:30 a.m. ET/PT. 

    There are a handful of world-class pairings and other golfers worthy of attention on Friday. Here is exactly when each tees off. 

Group 14: 8:58 AM (England)/3:58 AM ET/12:58 AM PT

2 of 15

    Hunter Mahan is the name in this pairing, but Nicolas Colsaerts is the game. 

    After putting together a strong U.S. Open championship performance, Colsaerts again finds himself in contention through the first day. 

    The third member of the pairing is John Senden, who is more than capable of putting up a memorable score in this championship. 

    This is the first notable pairing going out Friday morning. 

Group 15: 9:09 AM (England)/4:09 AM ET/1:09 AM PT

3 of 15

    If you'd heard of Toshinori Muto before Thursday you deserve a cookie. For the rest of us, the guy came out of nowhere to shoot a three-under 67. 

    His group, with better-known players Francesco Molinari and Bo Van Pelt, tees off nine minutes after 9:00 a.m. at St. Annes and still well before dawn anywhere in the United States.

Group 16: 9:20 AM (England)/4:20 AM ET/1:20 AM PT

4 of 15

    To the surprise of some, Rory McIlroy raced out to an opening round 67 at St. Annes. With heavy overnight rain in the forecast, the early start time Friday may hurt McIlroy. 

    He is flanked by two other great players, Louis Oosthuizen and Keegan Bradley. The three could elevate each other's game and keep each other focused in dreary conditions. 

Group 17: 9:31 AM (England)/4:31 AM ET/1:31 AM PT

5 of 15

    Rickie Fowler and Padraig Harrington highlight the threesome going out at 9:31 a.m. at St. Annes. 

Group 18: 9:42 AM (England)/ 4:42 AM ET/1:42 AM PT

6 of 15

    Phil Mickelson, Luke Donald and Geoff Ogilvy each had disappointing days Thursday. The three get to go out relatively early Friday in hopes of getting back in the fold. 

Group 21: 10:15 AM (England)/ 5:15 AM ET/2:15 AM PT

7 of 15

    Jim Furyk, fresh off his crushing loss at the U.S. Open, struggled much of Thursday. He gets a chance to redeem himself Friday starting at 10:15 a.m., in England that is. 

Group 39: 1:43 PM (England)/ 8:39 AM ET/5:39 AM PT

8 of 15

    Adam Scott raced out to an incredible 64 (six-under) Thursday. He is paired with Matt Kuchar in the first two rounds. They get to play an afternoon round Friday. 

Group 41: 2:10 PM (England)/ 9:10 AM ET/6:10 AM PT

9 of 15

    Zach Johnson is one of the hottest players in golf. He is paired with Ernie Els and defending champion Darren Clarke. 

    The threesome gets a fairly late start Friday. 

Group 42: 2:21 PM (England)/ 9:21 AM ET/6:21 AM PT

10 of 15

    Bubba Watson and Lee Westwood make for a fun pairing to watch Friday afternoon at Royal Lytham and at home on ESPN starting at 9:21 a.m. Eastern time/ 6:21 a.m. Pacific time. 

Group 43: 2:32 PM (England)/ 9:32 AM ET/6:32 AM PT

11 of 15

    After missing the U.S. Open, Dustin Johnson is trying to re-find his game at Royal Lytham. The good news is that he gets to play with Graeme McDowell to maintain the competition level.

    The two will be finishing near the end of the day Friday. 

Group 44: 2:43 PM (England)/ 9:43 AM ET/6:43 AM PT

12 of 15

    Tiger Woods leads an all-name team pairing at Royal Lytham. Paired with Justin Rose and Sergio Garcia, the once-prodigies threesome looks to regain some of their magic together at Royal Lytham. 

    They get to do it later in the day, which, weather permitting, could be a huge advantage. 

Group 45: 2:54 PM (England)/ 9:54 AM ET/6:54 AM PT

13 of 15

    Everyone loves Tom Watson. His pairing with Martin Kaymer and Ryo Ishikawa make the trio a pairing to tune into late in the afternoon (in England), or late in the morning here in the USA. 

Group 46: 3:05 PM (England)/10:05 AM ET/7:05 AM PT

14 of 15

    Aaron Baddeley, Thomas Bjorn and 2011 Masters champion Charl Schwartzel make for another fun threesome to watch later in the day. 

Group 47: 3:16 PM (England)/ 10:16 AM ET/7:16 AM PT

15 of 15

    Earlier this year Jason Dufner was playing the best golf on the PGA Tour. He joins Martin Laird and Kevin Na to make another fantastic trio teeing off just five groups from the end of the second round. 

     

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices