Euro 2012: What's Next for Spain

Joe Tansey@JTansey90Featured ColumnistJuly 1, 2012

Euro 2012: What's Next for Spain

0 of 5

    The term dynasty can officially be applied to the Spanish national team that took home the Euro 2012 title on Sunday with a dominant 4-0 win over Italy.

    The Euro 2012 title is the third straight major tournament title that La Furia Roja have won; the past two were the 2008 edition of the Euros and the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

    Now, all the hype in the world will surround the team for the next two years as they head into the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

    Here is what awaits the Spanish team on their way to Brazil.

2012 London Olympics

1 of 5

    The London Olympics are just a month away, and although close to none of the Spanish players from Euro 2012 will be on the roster, it is a measuring stick of the future of the country's footballing talent.

    Only a few players from the Euro 2012 roster are eligible for the Olympics, which is a U-23 tournament with three older players allowed on the roster.

    The players that are most likely to make it from the current national team squad are Javi Martinez, Jordi Alba and Sergio Busquets.

    Out of those three, Martinez would be the only one to play in London because he did not play at all in Poland and Ukraine while the other two started.

    Some notable players you may see on the roster, which will be released this week, are Manchester United's top-choice keeper David De Gea, Chelsea's Oriol Romeu, Barcelona's Crisitan Tello and Iker Muniain of Athletic Bilbao.

    The team, managed by Luis Milla, will play in Group D alongside Honduras, Japan and Morocco and will be considered one of the favorites to win the tournament.

2014 FIFA World Cup Qualifying

2 of 5

    Fresh off a major tournament victory, the Spanish national team will enter FIFA World Cup qualifying in September.

    Spain were drawn into Group I with France, Belarus, Georgia and Finland.

    Group I is the only group with five teams, so Spain and everyone else in the group will have to play two fewer games than everyone else in Europe.

    Vicente Del Bosque's team open up with Georgia on the road on September 11th in Tbilisi.

    The biggest challenge for Spain will be France, who they do not play until October 16th at home in Madrid.

International Friendlies

3 of 5

    In their upcoming international friendlies, Spain will get a chance to test out some new players to the squad if they choose to do so.

    La Furia Roja do not have to play any tough opponents in their next few friendlies on the schedule.

    A trip to Puerto Rico on August 15th will be the first time Spain take the pitch since their triumph at Euro 2012.

    After Puerto Rico, Saudi Arabia is on the schedule four days before World Cup qualifying begins.

    The final friendly of 2012 for Spain will be on November 14th against China in Beijing.

    Other confirmed opponents for 2013 include the Netherlands, Ukraine, Bolivia and Australia.

2013 Under-21 European Chanpionships

4 of 5

    Spain's collection of championships over the years not only comes from the senior team, but also from its under-21 team that won the U-21 Euros last year in Denmark.

    The tournament occurs every two years and Spain are close to qualifying for the 2013 edition of the tournament in Israel.

    Right now, they sit atop of Group 5 in qualifying, five points ahead of Switzerland, and will advance to the playoff round.

    The playoff round features the 10 group winners and the four best second-place teams with the seven winners of the playoff matchups making it to the tournament.

    Spain are guaranteed a spot in the playoff round, which will be played in October.

2013 FIFA Confederations Cup

5 of 5

    The one international title in their four-year span of dominance that Spain has not captured is the FIFA Confederations Cup.

    In 2009, Spain were upset by the United States in the semifinals after winning all three group games.

    The Confederations Cup is usually held as test run for the World Cup home nation, with the six winners from the six continents plus the host and the defending World Cup champions.

    So far, Brazil (host), Uruguay (Copa America winner), Mexico (CONCACAF Gold Cup winner), Japan (AFC Asian Cup winner) and Tahiti (OFC Nations Cup winner) have qualified with Spain.

    Italy will take the spot that Spain earned from winning the Euros, since Spain were already in thanks to the World Cup title.

    The only remaining continent to name a champion is Africa, who will decide their representative to Brazil in the 2013 African Cup of Nations.

    Spain will find out who will be in their group when the draw is held in Sao Paolo on December 1st.