Camping World Truck Series: Friday Night Lights

David PhillipsAnalyst IFebruary 13, 2009

Ok, I know that nobody reading this will be watching NBC's hit show Friday Night Lights unless it is DVR'd because you will probably be watching SPEED Channel and the annual Camping World Truck Series debut—I know I will.

My favorite driver, Colin Braun, grabbed the Keystone Light Pole Award for the Nextera Energy Resources 250 race at Daytona International Speedway late Thursday with a lap time of 50.721 seconds (177.441 mph).

The pole was Braun's career first, and the Roush Fenway Racing driver became the second-youngest pole winner in the series.

"I'm really excited about it," Braun said. "It's a really good truck. Driving the No. 6 Con-Way Freight Ford 150 Truck here at Daytona was really cool last year, to get my first race under my belt with (Con-Way), and now to get them a pole here is pretty special."

Kyle Busch holds the series record for youngest pole winner at 20 years, one month, and 16 days.

Braun's front-row start is the third-consecutive pole at a superspeedway for the RFR team. Erik Darnell grabbed the top starting spot for last year's races at Daytona and Talladega.
Braun was the 2008 Raybestos Rookie of the Year in the Truck Series after only 27 starts.
Rounding out the top 10 for Daytona are: No. 88 Matt Crafton, No. 30 Todd Bodine, No. 33 Ron Hornaday Jr., No. 5 Mike Skinner, No. 4 Ricky Carmichael, No. 25 Terry Cook, No. 23 Jason White, No. 13 Johnny Sauter, and the No. 60 of Stacy Compton.
Other notables include: starting 12th—Bleacher Report's own—Brian Scott, 13th—ARCA Re/Max winner at Daytona—James Buescher, 19th—Cup star Kyle Bush, and 21st—defending series champion Johnny Benson.
Coverage starts at 7:30 PM ET live on SPEED.