Indy 500 Results 2012: Reaction, Highlights and Post-Race Analysis

James WalkerAnalyst IMay 26, 2012

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - MAY 25:  Ryan Briscoe of Australia driver of the Team Penske Dallara Chevrolet leads Justin Wilson during final practice on Carb Day for the Indianapolis 500 on May 25, 2012 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Robert Laberge/Getty Images)
Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Dario Franchitti has won his third Indy 500 after an impatient move by Takuma Sato on final lap forced forced the race to finish under caution.

Franchitti's achievement was made all the more sensation following an early collision with E J Viso in the first round of scheduled pit stops. Viso drove into the Scot's car inside the pit lane, causing Franchitt's no. 50 Chip Ganassi to spin and subsequently require a change of nose cone. The eventual winner exited the pit lane in dead last but weaved his way through the field in composed performance of endurance and sublime race craft.

Chip Ganassi teammate Scott Dixon finished in second position with Brazilian Tony Kanaan finishing in third.

It was one of the most dramatic races in the history of the Indianapolis 500. There was a record breaking 36 changes for the lead, a number that crashed the previous record of 27- set in 1960. Eight drivers in total lead the race, 

With ten laps to go Brazilian Tony Kanaan claimed the lead from Scott Dixon and was in contention to win his first Indy 500 at the eleventh time of asking. TK may have succeeded were it not for a four lap stint of yellow flags that were brought out following Marco Andretti's crash into the side wall.

Earlier in the race polesitter Ryan Briscoe and James Hinchcliffe frequently exchanged the lead before Marco Andretti took the initiative on lap 20 to bring about a period of calm in the race.

Andretti may have won the race were it not for a right rear failure, a problem which forced team mate Ryan Hunter- Meay to also retire.