Indy 500 2012: The 10 Greatest Late Passes in Indy 500 History

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Indy 500 2012: The 10 Greatest Late Passes in Indy 500 History
Donald Miralle/Getty Images

The Indy 500 is recognised as one of the biggest challenges in motorsport, and coveted as the biggest prize in North American racing.

Consisting of 200 laps and 500 miles in length, it has been dominated by individual drivers in the past. Jules Goux once won the race with 13 minutes lead over second-placed driver Spencer Wishart. Similarly Rick Mears defeated Roberto Guerrero by two laps in 1984, with Al Unser beating A.J. Foyt by a similar margin in 1967.

Sometimes however, the field is more closely matched.

Despite the incredible distance, physical demands, mental challenges and differences in strategy, the lead cars can be little more than a few seconds apart in the dying stages of the race. An overtake can claim glory from the lead driver on the cusp of a hard-fought victory.

These are the encounters that fans remember; when a driver passes the leader late in the race to steal glory. They cause controversy, shock, heartbreak and ecstasy in one decisive motion.  

This slideshow is a compilation of the greatest 10 late passes in Indy 500 history, each of which enabled to bravest drivers to win.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook