The Real 2008 Kansas Football Awards

DJ GoodwinCorrespondent IFebruary 1, 2009

The Hawk Digest Annual Awards will continue on, but you may want to check in on the team awards from last night's ceremony at the Lied Center in Lawrence.


Full List of 2008 Winners

Ray Evans Defensive Player of the Year: James Holt (senior, linebacker)

John Hadl Offensive Player of the Year: Todd Reesing (junior, quarterback)

Bruce Kallmeyer Special Teams Player of the Year: Darrell Stuckey (junior, safety)

Gale Sayers Most Courageous Player: Jake Sharp (junior running back) and Kerry Meier (junior, wide receiver)

Don Fambrough Unselfish Player: Daymond Patterson (freshman cornerback)

Nolan Cromwell Leadership: Todd Reesing (junior, quarterback) and Darrell Stuckey (junior, safety)

Willie Pless Most Tackles: James Holt (senior, linebacker)

Galen Fiss Exemplary Service to Campus and Community: Mike Rivera (senior, linebacker)

Most Improved Defensive Player: Jake Laptad (sophomore, defensive end)

Most Improved Offensive Player: Kerry Meier (junior, wide receiver) and Dezmon Briscoe (sophomore, wide receiver)

Iron Hawk Weight Room: Darrell Stuckey (junior, safety)

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Adrian Mayes (senior, offensive guard)

George Mrkonic Defensive Scout Player of the Year: Dustin Spears (junior, defensive end)

Otto Schnellbacher Offensive Scout Player of the Year: Kale Pick (freshman, quarterback)

Senior Academic Scholar Award: Russell Brorsen (senior, defensive end)