Premier League Survival Sunday: Game-by-Game Guide and All You Need to Know

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Premier League Survival Sunday: Game-by-Game Guide and All You Need to Know
Michael Regan/Getty Images

Now read and read carefully folks, because this can get a little complicated.

The top three teams in the Premier League automatically qualify for the Champions League next season, with the fourth-place team entering the Champions League at the playoffs stage.

The Premier League then awards three Europa League places to the Carling Cup winners, FA Cup winners and the fifth-place team in the league.

Chelsea can finish no higher—or lower—than sixth, but if they win their Champions League final against Bayern Munich on May 19th, they will automatically qualify for next season's competition at the expense of the fourth-place English club.

Said fourth-placed club would get bumped into the Europa League instead, and the fifth-place team would assume the vacant Europa League spot made available by Chelsea's non-use of their FA Cup win allocation.

The bottom of the Premier League table is a little simpler, with the lowest three teams relegated into the Championship.

I'm sure that all makes perfect sense, but I shall endeavour to explain what could happen to various teams as I write about each fixture this upcoming Sunday.


Begin Slideshow »

Follow Liverpool from B/R on Facebook

Follow Liverpool from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.