PFA Names Robin Van Persie and Kyle Walker Player and Young Player of the Year

Josh MartinNBA Lead WriterApril 22, 2012

LONDON, ENGLAND - FEBRUARY 26:  Robin van Persie of Arsenal is closed down by Kyle Walker of Tottenham Hotspur during the Barclays Premier League match between Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur at Emirates Stadium on February 26, 2012 in London, England.  (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)
Clive Mason/Getty Images

Manchester may rule the English Premier League, but the individual awards will belong to North London this year.

According to Ouriel Daskal of, Arsenal striker Robin van Persie has earned the PFA Player of the Year Award:

Robin Van Persie has won PFA Player of the Year

— Ouriel Daskal (@Soccerissue) April 22, 2012


Meanwhile, Tottenham Hotspur winger and Birmingham City loan Andros Townsend was among the first to reveal that Spurs right back Kyle Walker had been named the PFA Young Player of the Year:

Congrats to @kyle28walker on winning the PFA young player of the year award #baller

— andros townsend(@andros_townsend) April 22, 2012


Van Persie currently leads the Premiership with 27 goals and is fifth in assists with 10. The flying Dutchman has compiled a total of 34 goals and 12 assists across all competitions in his first season as the Gunners' skipper. 

RVP beat out Manchester United's Wayne Rooney, Tottenham's Scott Parker and the Manchester City trio of Sergio Aguero, David Silva and Joe Hart for his honor.

Van Persie's victory is as predictable as Walker's is surprising. Walker garnered distinction ahead of a slew of spectacular attackers. That includes Manchester City's Kun, Manchester United's Danny Welbeck, Chelsea's Daniel Sturridge and Spurs squad mate Gareth Bale.