College Hockey Power Rankings: BC Finishes the Season on Top

Joe WatsonCorrespondent IApril 11, 2012

TAMPA, FL - APRIL 05:  Head coach Jerry York of the Boston College Eagles accepts the trophy after their victory over the Ferris State Bulldogs during the NCAA Division 1 Men's Hockey Championship Game at the Tampa Bay Times Forum on April 7, 2012 in Tampa, Florida.  (Photo by J. Meric/Getty Images)
J. Meric/Getty Images

The Boston College Eagles capped a magical run with a 4-1 win over Ferris State in the National Championship game.  The victory earned Boston College its third championship in the past five years.

Boston College now has five national championships in its illustrious history.  Only Wisconsin, Denver, North Dakota and Michigan have more championships than BC.

The Hobey Baker Award was also given out during the Frozen Four weekend in Tampa.  Minnesota-Duluth senior forward Jack Connolly become the fifth player in school history to win the Hobey Baker Award. He beat out Colgate's Austin Smith and Maine's Spencer Abbott for the award.  Connolly was second in the nation in points with 60.  

15. Air Force (21-11-7)

The Falcons won the regular season and tournament Atlantic Hockey championships before falling to BC in the NCAA Tournament 2-0.

14. Cornell (19-9-7)

Cornell shocked many by knocking off Michigan in the NCAA Tournament 3-2.

13. Boston University (23-15-1)

The Terriers didn't have enough to get past the Minnesota Golden Gophers in the NCAA Tournament, losing 7-3 in the first round.  The result was not typical of a BU-Minnesota rivalry game.

12. Western Michigan (21-14-6)

The Broncos were the CCHA Tournament champions and earned their second straight NCAA Tournament bid.

11. Massachusetts-Lowell (24-13-1)

The Riverhawks enjoyed their fourth NCAA Tournament appearance in school history.

10. Maine (23-14-3)

Forward Spencer Abbott led the nation in scoring with 62 points.

9. Denver (25-14-4)

The Pioneers were a trendy pick to make the Frozen Four this season, but were defeated by Ferris State 2-1 in the first round of the tournament.

8. Michigan (24-13-4)

The Wolverines earned their 22nd straight NCAA Tournament bid.  However, the Wolverines were knocked out of the tournament by Cornell in the first round.

7. Miami (24-15-2)

The Redhawks relied on their solid defense and Reilly Smith's offense throughout much of the season.  Only Union and Boston College allowed fewer goals per game.

6. Minnesota-Duluth (25-10-6)

The Bulldogs didn't have even to get past BC in the NCAA Tournmanet, losing 4-0.  However, forward Jack Connolly captured the school's fifth Hobey Baker Award.

5. North Dakota (26-13-3)

UND was outmatched by Minnesota in the NCAA Tournament, losing 5-2.  However, North Dakota earned its third straight WCHA Tournament championship this season.  

4. Minnesota (28-14-1)

The Gophers had a Jekyll and Hyde tournament run.  Minnesota dominated BU and North Dakota winning 7-3 and 5-2 respectively.  Then in the Frozen Four, BC dominated Minnesota winning 6-1.

3. Union (26-8-7)

The Dutchmen enjoyed the most successful season in school history, earning their first trip to the Frozen Four.  Union also led the nation in team defense, allowing just 1.83 goals per game.

2. Ferris State (26-12-5)

Although FSU fell short in the title game, the 2011-12 season was the most successful in school history. The Bulldogs earned their second CCHA conference championship and first ever trip to the Frozen Four.

1. Boston College (33-10-1)

BC capped the season on a 19-game winning streak to earn the program's fifth national championship.