Kansas vs. Ohio State Video: Watch Controversial Lane Violation Call on Buckeyes

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories

Ohio State controlled its game against Kansas on Saturday night but didn't make enough plays down the stretch to capture victory.

One of those plays late was Aaron Craft's lane violation with 2.9 seconds remaining in the game.

First of all, the Buckeyes should have never been in this position with how they blew the lead. It shouldn't have come down needing a missed free throw plus a put-back.

Second, there isn't much of a controversy after you watch the replay because clearly Craft crossed the plane of the free-throw line.

According to the NCAA basketball rules, this was clearly a violation.

c) The free-thrower shall not break the vertical plane of the free-throw line with either foot until the ball strikes the ring, flange, or backboard or until the free throw ends.

It was the correct call.

Hindsight is 20/20. The end result, not giving his guys a chance on the glass, made it seem like it was a horrendous idea.

However, I thought it was the right thing to do.

Leave it up to Craft to think of something like this. Pushing the ball to the rim as soon as he received it from the official, putting it exactly where he wanted to put it and taking a step back before pursuing the basketball was the perfect idea.

He just didn't execute all things needed to make this work.

Looking at the replay he does cross the line, but it's closer than what many would think if they didn't see the replay. If he waited a half-second later then we are looking at one of the greatest plays in NCAA Tournament history.

Despite him missing the layup afterwards, things could have been different because the whistle was blown. Just because he missed it doesn't mean he would have missed it if the whistle wasn't blown.

Things could have changed.

Ohio State was getting dominated by 11 rebounds at that time so the likelihood of getting that rebound was slim-to-none.

While others may look at this play as a terrible decision, I see it as him trying to make a play to tie the score. It almost worked to perfection.

But, for Ohio State and Craft, almost doesn't count.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Basketball

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.