Tiger, Rose, Ernie Golf's Big Names to Play in the Tavistock Cup

Fred AltvaterContributor IIMarch 18, 2012

Lake Nona won its fourth Tavistock Cup in 2011.
Lake Nona won its fourth Tavistock Cup in 2011.David Cannon/Getty Images

The Tavistock Cup has been held annually since 2004 at either Lake Nona or Isleworth Country Clubs in Orlando.  It has contributed more than $7 million to charity in its short history.

Many of the world’s top professionals reside in the Orlando area and are members at either Lake Nona or Isleworth.

What began as locker room bravado became an ultra Country Club contest to determine which club could win a head-to-head battle of teams made up of its most illustrious professionals.

In the first seven years of the competition, Isleworth and Lake Nona each won three times, plus the two teams tied in 2005.

The 2011 Albany team was comprised of Tiger Woods, Ernie Els, Trevor Immelman, Arjun Atwal, Ian Poulter and Justin Rose, but still lost the title to captain Retief Goosen’s team from Lake Nona.

The 24 tour professionals that will play in this year’s Tavistock Cup have over 860 tournament wins and 62 major titles combined.

For complete team rosters visit: www.tavistockcup.com

The sponsors of the Tavistock Cup read like a Who’s Who of Fortune 500 companies: CITI Bank, Audi, RBC Capital Markets, Heineken, Ingersoll Rand, Nautique and Grey Goose, to name just a few.

Players from the visiting club arrive via helicopter.  After all, who wants to brave the Orlando freeway traffic with all of the mere peasants waiting in line to enter the Magic Kingdom?

The Tavistock Cup will be broadcast on The Golf Channel Monday and Tuesday from Noon-5 p.m. EDT and will be re-aired in prime time from 7 p.m.-midnight.