AT&T National Pro-Am at Pebble Beach: 5 Players That Have Played It Best

Joseph SeymourContributor IIIFebruary 11, 2012

AT&T National Pro-Am at Pebble Beach: 5 Players That Have Played It Best

0 of 5

    Dustin Johnson is the last player to win the AT&T National Pro-Am two years in a row (2009-2010) in 20 years.

    He is one of three players to do it, with Cary Middlecoff and Mark O'Meara being the other two.

    Johnson sits in a group with two wins at Pebble Beach but we're going to take a look at five players who have played it the best.

    Starting with...

Phil Mickelson: Three-Time Winner

1 of 5

    Mickelson is a three-time victor at the AT&T National Pro-Am with his last victory coming in 2007.

    He is currently in a tie for fourth at nine-under (-par) after three rounds.

    The short game is a must at Pebble Beach, and that is one of Phil's strongest suits.

Jack Nicklaus: Three-Time Winner

2 of 5

    What list of golfing greats DOESN'T have Jack Nicklaus in it.

    This three-time winner of the event last won in 1973, defending his title from the previous year.

    Although he doesn't compete here anymore, everyone will remember his infamous 1-iron shot at the 17th in the 1972 U.S. Open

Johnny Miller: Three-Time Winner

3 of 5

    Johnny Miller won here three times in 1974, 1987 and 1994.

    Miller's last two victories of his PGA Tour career (the wins in '87 and '94) came at Pebble Beach.

Sam Snead: Four-Time Winner

4 of 5

    Sam Snead had one of the prettiest and most fluid golf swings of all time.

    His four wins at Pebble Beach are a pretty good testament to that.*


    *Snead tied for first in 1950 with Smiley Quick, Jack Burke Jr. and Dave Douglas

Mark O'Meara: Five-Time Winner

5 of 5

    Mark O'Meara has won more times at Pebble Beach than anyone else with his five wins.

    O'Meara won in 1985, 1989, 1990, 1992 and again in 1997.

    The former world number one also tied the low score record for the tournament with a 20-under four-day total of 268.