SEC Football: Arkansas Razorbacks Place Six Seniors in Postseason All-Star Games

Ryan WrightAnalyst IIIJanuary 15, 2012

Joe Adams and Greg Childs highlights a list of Razorbacks in post-season games.
Joe Adams and Greg Childs highlights a list of Razorbacks in post-season games.Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

The Arkansas Razorbacks have six seniors out of a total of 51 former SEC players who will participate in three of four different postseason All-Star games.

Running back Broderick Green (Little Rock, Arkansas) will be the first former Hog to appear in a game when he suits up for the Casino Del Sol College All-Star Game January 16.

Green, a punishing runner listed at 6’2” and 244 pounds, finished the 2011 college football season with 260 rushing yards on 68 carries. He led the Razorbacks with five rushing touchdowns this year.

For his career at Arkansas, he complied 1,235 rushing yards on 308 attempts for 22 touchdowns.

Five other former SEC players will be appearing in the Casino Del Sol All-Star Game: OT Chandler Burden from Kentucky, DE Wayne Dorsey from Ole Miss, QB Jarrett Lee from LSU, CB Anthony Mosley from Kentucky and LB Austin Johnson from Tennessee.

The Casino Del Sol College All-Star Game takes place in Phoenix, Arizona at the Kino Veterans Memorial Stadium and airs on FOX Sports Net at 8 p.m. EST January 16.

In the East-West Shrine Game, the NFL Network will showcase the talents of wide receivers Greg Childs and Jarius Wright along with linebacker Jerry Franklin.

Franklin was a four-year starter for the Hogs. He led Arkansas in tackles in each of the past four years, finishing with 100 or more tackles in his junior and senior seasons—101 in 2011 and 100 in 2010.  

Franklin was one of eight total Razorbacks voted All-SEC in 2011. He was second team defense, as picked by SEC Coaches.

Franklin was second team All-SEC for the Hogs.
Franklin was second team All-SEC for the Hogs.Grant Halverson/Getty Images

Jarius Wright led the SEC in receiving yards (1,117) and touchdown receptions (12) during his senior season. Wright was one catch shy of tying Tennessee’s Da’Rick Rogers conference leading total of 67.

Greg Childs played much of the 2011 season still recovering from a patellar tendon injury he suffered in the fourth quarter of a 2010 game against Vanderbilt. He had his best game of the season in the Cotton Bowl against the Kansas State Wildcats, finishing with five catches for 48 yards.

Childs ended his college football career with 2,069 total receiving yards, 133 receptions and 15 total touchdowns.

Nine other SEC players will appear in the East-West Shrine Game, including:

  • QB John Brantley from Florida 
  • Tauren Poole from Tennessee 
  • DT DeAngelo Tyson, PK Blair Walsh 
  • FB Bruce Figgins from Georgia 
  • DE Kentrell Lockett and OT Bradley Sowell from Ole Miss
  • C Quentin Saulsberry from Mississippi State
  • DT Travian Robertson from South Carolina.

The East-West Shrine Game starts at 4 p.m. EST and will be shown on the NFL Network January 21. The game will be played at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Florida.

The Senior Bowl has the largest collection of former SEC players among the postseason All-Star games, with 23 total players appearing including two Razorbacks—WR Joe Adams and DE Jake Bequette.

Bequette led the Hogs with 10 sacks in 2011.
Bequette led the Hogs with 10 sacks in 2011.Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

Jake Bequette was first team All-SEC in 2011 after totaling 10 sacks, five quarterback hurries and 10.5 tackles for a loss while appearing in 10 games. He had multiple sack games against South Carolina (3), Mississippi State (2) and Kansas State (2).

Joe Adams was a consensus All-American as a punt returner for Arkansas. He ranked No. 2 in Division 1-A in total punt return yards (321) and average return yards per punt (16.89), but led all players in returns for a touchdown (4).

Adams was a primary threat in the SEC as one of the Razorbacks' top wide receivers. He ranked No. 8 in the SEC with 652 total receiving yards, and was No. 4 in total receptions with 54 while catching three touchdown passes.

As a threat out of the backfield, Adams had 10 rushing attempts for 139 yards with one touchdown.

The 21 other former SEC players scheduled to play in the Senior Bowl include: 

  • RB Vick Ballard from MSU
  • DT Josh Chapman, Safety Mark Barron, WR Marquis Maze, CB DeQuan Menzie, LB Courtney Upshaw and C William Vlachos from Alabama 
  • Punter Drew Butler, CB Brandon Boykin, OT Cordy Glenn and C Ben Jones from Georgia, 
  • DT Jaye Howard and RB Chris Rainey from Florida 
  • RT Brandon Mosley and LS Josh Harris from Auburn 
  • CB Casey Hayward from Vanderbilt
  • DE Melvin Ingram and S/LB Antonio Allen from South Carolina
  • OG Will Blackwell, TE Deangelo Peterson, and Safety Brandon Taylor from LSU.

The Senior Bowl in Mobile, Alabama will air on the NFL Network at 4 p.m. EST January 28.

No former Razorback players will appear in the Battle for Florida played on January 21 at 8 p.m. EST on FOX College Sports in Boca Raton, Florida.