The Most Dominant 'Ace' in the History of Every MLB Franchise

« Prev
1 of 31
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
The Most Dominant 'Ace' in the History of Every MLB Franchise
Photo courtesy

The word “ace” can be used in many different forms—as a noun, verb or adjective. As a noun, ace is used in a variety of sports, including tennis, badminton, golf, even handball.

However, in baseball, the word ace has significant meaning for every single MLB franchise, as an ace is the most coveted prize possession for each team.

To be considered an ace, a pitcher must possess certain qualities that places him at the top of the starting rotation—sharp command, the ability to beguile hitters with an array of various pitches, for some a blazing fastball that is near unhittable, and one who can throw any pitch at any given time, in a pressure situation.

Quite frankly, it's the guy you want to give the ball to in a do-or-die game.

There are other qualities as well, however, for the sake of time, the above qualities will suffice.

Tens of thousands of pitchers have tried to prove that they are worthy of being an ace, but only a small percentage have actually reached that goal.

Here then is a list of the most dominant pitchers in the history of each MLB franchise.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.