College Basketball: Ranking the Last 15 National Champions

« Prev
1 of 16
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
College Basketball: Ranking the Last 15 National Champions
Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Perhaps the most distinguishable characteristic about college basketball when compared to other sports is that its athletes have only four years maximum to accomplish what every kid dreams of doing: winning a national championship. 

In professional sports, athletes seemingly get an endless number of mulligans and do-overs on their quest for a championship, but college basketball is not so forgiving. Even the most elite programs go through national championship droughts which can span for decades. 

However, this elusiveness immortalizes college basketball's national champions in an incomparable way to any other sport. As a result of the constant upheaval of championship team rosters due to graduation and players leaving early for the NBA, very rarely does a national champion get the chance to defend its title with the same team it had the year prior.

Thus, we are left to wonder how, for instance, the 2003 Carmelo Anthony led Syracuse team would have fared against the 2004 UConn team that was anchored by Emeka Okafor. Or how the 2001 Duke team that was led by Jason Williams would deal with the overwhelming size of the 2007 Florida team.

In college basketball, a champion is truly a champion forever, never to be challenged again and leaving fans curious as to how certain championship teams stack up with others. Alas, that is why I am comprising this list. To rank the best of the best, the Champions Poll, if you will.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.