World Football Report: Neymar Beats Vargas, Ganso to King of the Americas

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
World Football Report: Neymar Beats Vargas, Ganso to King of the Americas
Lintao Zhang/Getty Images

Neymar of Santos has been given the honour of being named player of the year in the Americas.

The Brazilian superstar beat of competition from Universidad de Chile's phenomenon Eduardo Vargas and fellow Santos teammate Paulo Henrique Ganso.

The voting consisted of 247 journalists from 19 different countries selecting their top three players in all the Americas.

Neymar succeeds Andrés D'Alessandro who won the award last year to keep the award in Brazil after D'Alessandro impressed so much with Internacional do Porto Alegre.

The voting has been broken down like this:


1. Neymar, Santos: 130 votes

2. Vargas, Universidad de Chile: 70

3. Ganso, Santos: 33

Who will adjust best to European football?

Submit Vote vote to see results

4. Egidio Arévalo Ríos, Tijuana: 30

5. Rolando Schiavi, Boca Juniors: 25

6. Néicer Reasco, LDU Quito: 24

6. Clemente Rodriguez, Boca Juniors: 24

8. Jhonny Herrerra, Universidad de Chile: 23

8. Juan Roman Riquelme, Boca Juniors: 23

10. Hernán Barcos, LDU Quito: 16

10. Marcos Gonzalez, Universidad de Chile: 16

12. Emiliano Papa, Velez Sarsfield: 15

12. Dedé, Vasco de Gama: 15

14. Charles Aranguiz, Universidad de Chile: 14

14. Elano, Santos: 14

16. Matías Rodríguez, Universidad de Chile: 13

16. Darío Verón, UNAM Pumas: 13

18. Oswaldo Vizcarrondo, Club America: 12

18. Danilo, Santos: 12

18. Ronaldinho, Flamengo: 12 


Follow me on Twitter @jackalexandros and @FRcalcioJack.

Load More Stories

Out of Bounds

World Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.