Jameis Winston Headlines 2013 AP All-America Team

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Jameis Winston Headlines 2013 AP All-America Team
Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

The accolades continue to pile up for Florida State freshman quarterback Jameis Winston, who was named to the Associated Press All-America First Team just days after capturing the coveted Heisman Trophy.   

Winston was joined on the first team by fellow Heisman finalists Andre Williams of Boston College at running back and Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch as the all-purpose player.

Here is a look at the full first-team roster:

AP All-America First Team
Position Player Team Class
QB Jameis Winston Florida State Fr.
RB Andre Williams Boston College Sr.
RB Ka'Deem Carey Arizona Jr.
OT Jake Matthews Texas A&M Sr.
OT Cyrus Kouandijo Alabama Jr.
OG Cyril Richardson Baylor Sr.
OG David Yankey Stanford Sr.
C Bryan Stork Florida State Sr.
WR Brandin Cooks Oregon State Jr.
WR Mike Evans Texas A&M So.
TE Jace Amaro Texas Tech Jr.
All-Purpose Jordan Lynch Northern Illinois Sr.
K Roberto Aguayo Florida State Fr.
DE Michael Sam Missouri Sr.
DE Jackson Jeffcoat Texas Sr.
DT Aaron Donald Pittsburgh Sr.
DT Will Sutton Arizona State Sr.
LB Anthony Barr UCLA Sr.
LB C.J. Mosley Alabama Sr.
LB Ryan Shazier Ohio State Jr.
CB Darqueze Dennard Michigan State Sr.
CB Lamarcus Joyner Florida State Sr.
S Cody Prewitt Ole Miss Jr.
S Deone Bucannon Washington State Sr.
P Tom Hornsey Memphis Sr.


The honor doesn't come as a big surprise for Winston after his landslide Heisman Trophy victory. According to Ray Sanchez and Chelsea J. Carter of CNN.com, Winston was taken aback by the enormity of winning the most prestigious individual award in American sports.

"It's a blessing. I don't even know what's going on right now, honestly. I'm just so happy. I'm overwhelmed," Winston said.

Winston enjoyed a dominant season for the Seminoles that saw him accrue more than 4,000 total yards and 42 total touchdowns en route to an undefeated campaign.

Per SportsCenter, the 19-year-old freshman became the youngest player in history to win the Heisman Trophy.

Texas A&M signal-caller Johnny Manziel became the first freshman to accomplish that feat last season, and although he fell short in his bid to win two straight, he was named to the Associated Press All-America Second Team.

Auburn running back Tre Mason was named to the second team as well after finishing sixth in the Heisman voting.

The entire second team is as follows:

AP All-America Second Team
Position Player Team Class
QB Johnny Manziel Texas A&M So.
RB Tre Mason Auburn Jr.
RB Bishop Sankey Washington Jr.
OT Cameron Erving Florida State Jr.
OT Taylor Lewan Michigan Sr.
OG Gabe Jackson Mississippi State Sr.
OG Xavier Su'a-Filo UCLA Jr.
C Gabe Ikard Oklahoma Sr.
WR Sammy Watkins Clemson Jr.
WR Davante Adams Fresno State So.
TE Eric Ebron North Carolina Jr.
All-Purpose Ty Montgomery Stanford Jr.
K Anthony Fera Texas Sr.
DE Vic Beasley Clemson Jr.
DE Shilique Calhoun Michigan State So.
DT Timmy Jernigan Florida State Jr.
DT Kelcy Quarles South Carolina Jr.
LB Trent Murphy Stanford Sr.
LB Khalil Mack Buffalo Sr.
LB Chris Borland Wisconsin Sr.
CB Justin Gilbert Oklahoma State Sr.
CB Jason Verrett TCU Sr.
S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix Alabama Jr.
S Ahmad Dixon Baylor Sr.
P Drew Kaser Texas A&M So.


Heisman runner-up AJ McCarron of Alabama was the third-team quarterback, and he was joined by an impressive cast of players as well:

AP All-America Third Team
Position Player Team Class
QB AJ McCarron Alabama Sr.
RB Carlos Hyde Ohio State Sr.
RB Ameer Abdullah Nebraska Jr.
OT Jack Mewhort Ohio State Sr.
OT Gregory Johnson Auburn So.
OG John Urschel Penn State Sr.
OG Ryan Groy Wisconsin Sr.
C Reese Dismukes Auburn Jr.
WR Allen Robinson Penn State Jr.
WR Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt Sr.
TE Austin Seferian-Jenkins Washington Jr.
All-Purpose Odell Beckham Jr. LSU Jr.
K Jeff Budzien Northwestern Sr.
DE Marcus Smith Louisville Sr.
DE Jeremiah Attaochu Georgia Tech Sr.
DT Ra'Shede Hageman Minnesota Sr.
DT Leonard Williams USC So.
LB Shayne Skov Stanford Sr.
LB Max Bullough Michigan State Sr.
LB Denicos Allen Michigan State Sr.
CB Ife Ekpre-Olomu Oregon Jr.
CB Vernon Hargreaves III Florida Fr.
S Jimmie Ward Northern Illinois Sr.
S Ty Zimmerman Kansas State Sr.
P Austin Rehkow Idaho Fr.


Arguments can always be made that some players were more deserving than others, but it is great to see the nation's best players get honored regardless.

The three All-America teams are each stacked with a ton of talent, and it's more than likely that most of these athletes will be playing on Sundays in the near future.   

Follow @MikeChiari on Twitter

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.