SEC Announces 2013 All-Freshman Football Team

Sebastian Lena@SP7988Analyst IDecember 12, 2013

The quarterback position is bright at Missouri with Mauk under center.
The quarterback position is bright at Missouri with Mauk under center.Kyle Rivas/Getty Images

With the 2013 college football regular season now in the books, it’s time to pay some respect to the top-performing freshmen from the SEC.

On Thursday afternoon, the conference announced the full lineup for its 14th Annual 2013 SEC All-Freshman Team, via

The offensive team’s selection is listed below:

All-SEC Freshman Offensive Team
TEHunter HenryArkansas
OLLaremy TunsilOle Miss
OLAndrew JelksVanderbilt
OLAlex KozanAuburn
OLDenver KirklandArkansas
CJon TothKentucky
WRLaquon TreadwellOle Miss
WRMarquez NorthTennessee
QBMaty MaukMissouri
RBAlex CollinsArkansas
RBKelvin TaylorFlorida
APPharoh CooperSouth Carolina

At first glance, every player listed is worthy of the honor.

Missouri’s Maty Mauk probably made the biggest impact. He helped quarterback the team through four games while starter James Franklin sat out with an injury.

Mauk faired valiantly, throwing for 1,039 yards, 10 touchdowns and just two interceptions while leading the Tigers to a 3-1 mark under center.

Arkansas’ Alex Collins also stood out. The Fort Lauderdale, Fla., native rushed for 1,026 yards and four touchdowns on 190 carries.

Not to mention, he won the SEC's Freshman of the Year award earlier this week, via KSFM's Chris Breece

Expectations will be high for Collins in 2014.

The defensive and special teams’ selections are listed below:

SEC All-Freshman Defense and Special Teams
DLChris JonesMississippi State
DLA'Shawn RobinsonAlabama
DLRobert NkemdicheOle Miss
DLDarius PhilonArkansas
LBDarian ClaiborneTexas A&M
LBLeonard FloydGeorgia
LBSkai MooreSouth Carolina
DBVernon HargreavesFlorida
DBTony ConnorOle Miss
DBTre'Davious WhiteLSU
DBCameron SuttonTennessee
PKElliott FrySouth Carolina
PJohnny TownsendFlorida
RSPharoh CooperSouth Carolina

Ole Miss’ Robert Nkemdiche immediately stands out.

The Loganville, Ga., native was highly touted coming out of high school. In 10 games, he recorded 29 tackles (8.0 for loss), 2.0 sacks and three quarterback hurries. Nkemdiche even recorded 32 rushing yards on five carries.

Florida’s Vernon Hargreaves also made a name for himself in 2013.

After intercepting three passes in his first four games, opposing quarterbacks thought better of attacking Hargreaves. He finished with 38 tackles and broke up an impressive 11 passes.

Votes from all 14 of the SEC head coaches were used in determining the teams.

Furthermore, all 14 schools were represented with Arkansas, South Carolina and Ole Miss leading the way with four selections each.


For complete coverage and everything college football, you can reach Sebastian on Facebook, on Twitter and via email at