Heisman Trophy Winners: Power Ranking Ohio State's 7 Winners

Dan Vasta@CI_StatsGuruSenior Writer IIIDecember 10, 2011

Heisman Trophy Winners: Power Ranking Ohio State's 7 Winners

0 of 7

    The Ohio State Buckeyes have had seven Heisman Trophy winners (six different) since the very first Heisman was awarded back in 1935 (Jay Berwanger, Chicago).

    Those seven winners make the Buckeyes tied for the most in college football history alongside the Notre Dame Fighting Irish. Two legendary programs have a total of 14 winners, though a combined eight of those winners were before the 1970s.

    So, without further ado, I rank the seven Heisman winners at Ohio State University.

Howard Cassady: 1955

1 of 7

    Scoring 37 touchdowns in your 36-game career is not too shabby and that is not the only reason he is a Buckeye legend. “Hopalong” Cassady played defensive back and ended up being the third pick in the 1956 NFL Draft.

    He was later inducted into the College Football Hall-of-Fame in 1979.

Vic Janowicz: 1950

2 of 7

    This Buckeye halfback carried an Ohio State squad that finished 9-2 with a number five ranking. Everybody talks about how well he ran the ball in the single wing, but he played a few other positions.

    In fact, he was a punter, placekicker, blocker, safety and even a passer. The guy flat out did it all and was later inducted into the College Football Hall-of-Fame in 1976 and his jersey (No. 31) was also retired in Columbus as well.

Les Horvath: 1944

3 of 7

    It was just the tenth year in which the Heisman Trophy was awarded to the most outstanding player, but Ohio State had their first of eventual seven Heisman’s.

    Les Horvath (QB/HB) was dominant in all areas for a Buckeyes squad that was unbeatable. Prior to 1968 the final AP Polls were released prior to bowl games and Ohio State finish second in the country behind Army.

    Both went 9-0, but Horvath’s Buckeyes allowed only 79 points compared to the 288 points they scored offensively.

    Horvath passed away in 1995, but was inducted into the Hall-Of-Fame way back in 1969 as he remains one of the more prestigious Heisman Trophy winners in Buckeyes history.

Eddie George: 1995

4 of 7

    Eddie George won the ’95 Heisman by leading his Buckeyes to a top ten ranking. Despite losing its final two games to Michigan and Florida, George’s Buckeyes were unstoppable in the first 11 games.

    George finished the season with 24 TDs (25 total) on top of running roughshod on the Big Ten for 1,927 yards. 

Troy Smith: 2006

5 of 7

    The Buckeye signal caller became a legend of his own right by winning the Heisman and putting Ohio State back in the BCS National Championship.

    Despite losing to Ohio State, Smith had a spectacular season totaling for 31 TDs with 2,542 yards passing. Ohio State went undefeated and looked unstoppable throughout the regular season.

    Ohio State faced all challengers and was never phased, but he was not just a standing duck back in the pocket. He escaped pressure and often enjoyed being flushed out of the pocket with Ted Ginn Jr, Brian Robiskie and Anthony Gonzalez at his disposal. 

Archie Griffin: 1975

6 of 7

    Griffin became the first-ever (still to this day) two-time Heisman Trophy winner and his Buckeyes had another trip to Pasadena for the Rose Bowl. Running for legendary coach Woody Hayes, Griffin finished his career against Michigan with an astonishing 3-0-1 all-time record.

    Having never lost to Michigan may not seem like the most astonishing stats around, but the Buckeyes-Wolverines matchups always were filled with national championship implications.

    Though they did lose in the Rose Bowl for consecutive seasons, but Griffin’s individual accomplishments for consecutive season will be ranked among the greatest in college football history.

Archie Griffin: 1974

7 of 7

    This was the first of two Heisman for Griffin, but he went bonkers in ’74. He scored 12 TDs and led the Buckeyes to a 10-2 season, which included a trip to Pasadena in the Rose Bowl.

    Stats were not as vital and the numbers are a bit skewed when comparing Griffin’s to an average running back these days.

    However, Griffin remains among the greatest players in college football and still to this day remains as the only two-time winner. There have been many chances for former Heisman winners to repeat and win it again, but they have all fallen short which only makes Griffin’s accomplishments that much more impressive.