LSU Football

BCS Championship Playoff Set: 8 Teams Battle for Trophy

ATLANTA, GA - DECEMBER 03:  Aaron Murray #11 of the Georgia Bulldogs lays in the ground after being sacked by Lavar Edwards #89 of the LSU Tigers during the 2011 SEC Championship Game at Georgia Dome on December 3, 2011 in Atlanta, Georgia.  (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images
Rick GillispieCorrespondent IIDecember 4, 2011

After Championship Saturday for Conferences I have my list of the eight teams who would play in the eight team playoff.

Starting on December 17th the following games would take place.

In Los Angeles  #4 Stanford vs #5 Boise State

In Dallas  #3 Oklahoma State vs #6 Arkansas

In St. Louis  #2 Alabama vs #7 Oregon

In Atlanta  #1 LSU vs #8 Kansas State


On Dec 24 the following games would take place.

In Miami # 1 LSU vs #4 Stanford

In Glendale #2 Alabama vs #3 Oklahoma State


On January 7th the following games would take place.

The two losers play in Pasadena  #4 Stanford vs #3 Oklahoma State

The Two winners play in New Orleans for the Title #2 Alabama vs #1 LSU


With the season over we clearly know that LSU deserves to be in the title game. The question is who joins them. The clear favorite to me is Alabama, but I can understand Oklahoma State a little. A playoff system is what we need. LSU would still win the title against Alabama to me in a playoffs system, but you never know.

When Presidents of the Colleges realize that the fan wants a playoff system we still wouldn't get it. You can leave the bowl system, just pull the top eight teams from the end of year's BCS rankings and have a playoff. 

It's not that hard to make this happen. 

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices