Georgia Football: 5 Dawgs Who Could Take Home Big Awards This Season

Ross DurrenceCorrespondent IIJuly 23, 2011

Georgia Football: 5 Dawgs Who Could Take Home Big Awards This Season

0 of 5

    With all that transpired in Athens last season, the stakes are certainly high for the Georgia Dawgs this season.

    They will likely contend for the SEC East title and are led by some of the best players at their respective positions in the country.

    Let's take a look at five Dawgs who could take home big awards this year.

Blair Walsh

1 of 5

    Lou Groza Award
    (Nation's Top Kicker)

    The first half of Georgia's dynamic special teams duo, Blair Walsh is the most talented kicker in the SEC.

    He was a finalist for the Lou Groza Award in 2009 and a semifinalist in 2009.

    Look for Walsh to again compete for the award in 2011.

Drew Butler

2 of 5

    Ray Guy Award
    (Nation's Top Punter)

    Averaging more than 46 yards per punt during his career, Drew Butler is one of the best punters in Bulldog history.  

    He won the Ray Guy Award in 2009 and was one of three finalists in 2010.

    Butler will again contend for this prestigious award in 2011.

Orson Charles

3 of 5

    John Mackey Award 
    (Nation's Best Tight End)

    Orson Charles is coming off two successful seasons in Athens and is looking to break out in 2011.

    He will be targeted often by his high school teammate Aaron Murray and could end up hoisting this award come season's end.

Ben Jones

4 of 5

    Rimington Trophy
    (Nation's Best Center)

    Ben Jones is entering his fourth season in Athens and looks to anchor the Dawgs' 2011 offensive line.

    He was already named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List for 2011 and will have to maul opponents if the Dawgs will succeed this year.

John Jenkins

5 of 5

    Lombardi Award
    (Nation's Best Lineman/Linebacker)

    John Jenkins was one of the top junior college players last season and looks to make an immediate impact for the Dawgs.

    He measures 6'4", 350 lbs and will be a menace for opposing offensive lines.

    John Jenkins looks to be for the Dawgs what Nick Fairley was for the Auburn Tigers last season.

    That comparison is not by accident.  The 2010 winner of this award?

    Nick Fairley.