College Football: Who Is the Best of the BCS Champs?

« Prev
1 of 15
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
College Football: Who Is the Best of the BCS Champs?
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

We all hate the BCS.

There, there. Now that the vitriol is out of the way, it is time to focus on the system's positives. Despite its biased approach and inconsistencies, the BCS finally eradicated the unfair system the Rose Bowl used to prevent the two top teams in the country every season (even if that improvement came after 2001). But let's take a new spin on how to determine the BCS champions.

The Colley Matrix was made by Princeton grad Wesley Colley, who sticks to simple mathematical formulas to determine his teams' rankings. By ignoring margin of victory, determining strength of schedule by opponents' cumulative winning percentage, having no preseason poll to cause bias, and using only wins and losses as variables, Colley has a unique formula.

It has also produced very consistent results with the BCS—agreeing with each of the BCS champions that have been crowned number 1—so at least the formula is tolerable (for now).

Wesley Colley's system evolves with the times as well—including FCS winning percentage after the Miracle in Michigan. Due to the precise nature of the system and its ratings, we can rely on it to tell us the truth.

We've all had our opinions, but now it is time to crown the champion of champions—the true kings of the BCS era!

For more specific information on the Colley Matrix, consult this guide:

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.