College Football 2011: Ranking the Top 10 Coaches in the Nation

Puppet MasterCorrespondent IJune 10, 2011

The list of top coaches in the nation may begin and end with Gene Chizik of Auburn and Gary Patterson of TCU, since each man produced an undefeated season in 2010.

Coach Chizik, seen pictured recently meeting with President Obama in the White House, has become the voice of calmness and sophistication among the nation's coaching leaders.

A different list could contain men who have won consistently over time. Another would contain the names of the most popular coaches.

Still yet, we could have a list of the current coaches with the most undefeated seasons and the most wins overall. This would be a ranking with only the name of Joe Paterno on the list. 

We should not be so automatic with our praise.

What have you done lately? That is our theme. 

A number of programs moved forward last year and it is time to show respect for a job well done.

This list will rank the nation's best coaches according to their most recent performance.

Specifically, the 2010 season results will determine our rankings just like the weekly results determine the ranking of teams in polls during the year.

Let us examine the top 10 coaches in the country based upon this objective criteria.

No. 1: Gene Chizik, Auburn Tigers. 2010 record 14-0, BCS National Champions.

No. 2: Gary Patterson, TCU Horned Frogs. 2010 record 13-0, Rose Bowl Champions.

No. 3: Chris Ault, Nevada Wolfpack. 2010 record 13-1, WAC Co-Champions.

No. 4: Chip Kelly, Oregon Ducks. 2010 record 12-1, PAC 10 Champions.

No. 5: Bob Stoops, Oklahoma Sooners. 2010 record 12-2, Big 12 Champions.

No. 6: Chris Peterson, Boise State Broncos, 2010 record 12-1, WAC Co-Champions.

No. 7: Bret Bielema, Wisconsin Badgers. 2010 record 11-2, Big 10 Co-Champions.

No. 8: Les Miles, LSU Tigers. 2010 record 11-2, Cotton Bowl Champions.

No. 9: Mark Dantonio, Michigan State Spartans. 2010 record 11-2, Big10 Co-Champions.

No. 10: Steve Spurrier, South Carolina Gamecocks, 2010 record 9-5, SEC East Champions.