Big Ten Expansion: Conference Unveils New Logo and Divisions

Brandon CavanaughCorrespondent IDecember 13, 2010

The Big Ten Conference provided a glimpse into the future today.

As of July 1, 2011, the University of Nebraska will be joining the conference, marking the first time that the Big Ten has welcomed a new member since Penn State joined in 1990.

The logo features block letters using the number “1” in place of the “I” in the word “Big.”

The former embedded “11” logo did not change into a “12,” as was strongly rumored.

Negative space is also implemented into the new logo, providing a solid, easily marketable look.

Commissioner Jim Delany said, “There wasn’t a lot of discussion this time,” in regards to the logo.

“There’s a real history to that (the conference’s name). There was a very short discussion. Everyone was comfortable.”

Delany explained that simple directions (North-South, East-West) were thrown out as criteria for naming the divisions. The conference wanted instead to focus on its rich tradition and history.

The divisions will be structured as follows:





Michigan State








Ohio State

Penn State




Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Ind., was chosen as the site for the initial Big Ten Championship Game.

The conference champion will receive the Stagg-Paterno Trophy.

Can't get enough football news, reviews and overall sports merriment? Follow Brandon on Twitter (@eightlaces) for the latest article updates and other general college football goodness.