BCS ChampionshipDownload App

NCAA Football: A Modified Proposal For a 16-Team Playoff; Part 1: The Plan

ATLANTA - DECEMBER 04:  Quarterback Cam Newton #2 of the Auburn Tigers runs with the ball during the 2010 SEC Championship against the South Carolina Gamecocks at Georgia Dome on December 4, 2010 in Atlanta, Georgia.  (Photo by Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images)
Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images
Gregory KochContributor INovember 5, 2016

People are debating whether NCAA Football should have a playoff or not. It is undoubtedly apparent that they should. The question is what format it should be.

Today, I propose a solution. The rules are as follows:


1. All champions of BCS conferences (Big East, Big 10, Big 12, SEC, Pac-10, ACC) automatically qualify

2. Any conference champion ranked higher than an AQ under Rule One automatically qualifies. This year, Connecticut from the Big East was unranked in BCS, so any ranked conference champion got in. That meant TCU out of the Mountain West, Boise State from the WAC (who was tied head-to-head with Nevada and Hawaii, but won by having the highest BCS ranking) and Central Florida from C-USA.

3. At-large teams will then be selected in order of BCS ranking until there are 16 teams in the field.

4. All teams are seeded according to BCS ranking, however no AQ under Rule One may be seeded lower than eighth.

5. No team may play another team from their conference in the first round. If necessary, the lower seed may be swapped with the team below them. If that fails, they may be swapped with the team above them. If that fails, repeat attempts with the higher seed.

This year, under these rules, the seeds are as follows:

1. Auburn (SEC Champion)

2. Oregon (Pac-10 Champion)

3. TCU (MWC Champion)

4. Stanford (At-large)

5. Wisconsin (Big 10 Champion)

6. Oklahoma (Big 12 Champion) *

7. Virginia Tech (ACC Champion) *

8. Connecticut (Big East Champion) *

9. Ohio State (At large)

10.Arkansas (At-large)

11. Michigan State (at-large)

12. Boise State (WAC Champion)

13. LSU (At-large)

14. Missouri (At-large)

15. Oklahoma State (At-large)

16. Central Florida (C-USA Champion)

*- These schools were moved up because of Rule Four part b (no AQ under Rule One may be seeded lower than eighth)

This sets up the matchups as follows for the first round


#16 Central Florida at #1 Auburn

#9 Ohio State at #8 Connecticut

#13 LSU at #4 Stanford

#12 Boise State at #5 Wisconsin

#11 Michigan State at #6 Oklahoma

#14 Missouri at #3 TCU

#10 Arkansas at #7 Virginia Tech

#15 Oklahoma State at #2 Oregon


These games will be simulated once using the engine on Whatifsports.com. I will simulate the first round of games once the engine uploads the data from the 2010 season. I will adjust the schedule slightly after that so the final is played no later than Saturday, Jan.8. More on that will be announced later, so stay tuned.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices