Ten Of The Greatest Heisman Trophy Winners Of All-Time: A Video Montage

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ten Of The Greatest Heisman Trophy Winners Of All-Time: A Video Montage


The Heisman Trophy is one of the highest individual awards in college football, and has been awarded 75 times since its creation in 1935. It includes 74 individual winners and one two-time winner, Ohio State's Archie Griffin.

The award is given annually to the most outstanding college football player in the National Collegiate Athletic Association, and is awarded by The Heisman Trust at an annual gala ceremony at the Downtown Athletic Club in New York City.

In terms of balloting, the fifty states of the U.S. are split into six regions, and six regional representatives are selected to appoint voters in their states. Each region has 145 media votes, for a total of 870 votes. In addition, all previous Heisman winners may vote, and one final vote is counted through public balloting. 

The Heisman ballots contain a 3-2-1 point system, in which each ballot ranks the voter's top three players and awards them three points for a first-place vote, two points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote. The points are tabulated, and the player with the highest total points across all ballots wins the Heisman Trophy. 

In the following slides, you will see 10 of the greatest collegiate Heisman trophy winners of all time.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.