Pigskin Punditry No. 2: Non-BCS Order Of Finish

David SingletonCorrespondent IAugust 26, 2008

They are often the forgotten members of the college football world, hidden away from the glare of the media.

They are located in remote outposts like Bowling Green, Ohio; Provo, Utah; and Troy, Ala.

Okay, I know not all of the schools from the Non-BCS affiliated conferences are not in remote locations. Nobody will ever call Boca Raton, Honolulu or Salt Lake City remote in the real world.

But in the crazy world of college football, that is not the case.

From a football perspective, if you’re in the WAC or the Sun Belt or the MAC, you tend not to exist to the average fan. But there is some very good football being played at these schools. They just need a little national love and attention.

Here at Pigskin Punditry, we will try to give equal time to all members of the Division I – FBS family.

But for right now, here are the preseason picks:

Conference USA:

 East Division:

1)      East Carolina

2)      UCF

3)      Memphis

4)      Southern Mississippi

5)      UAB

6)      Marshall

West Division:

1)      Tulsa

2)      Houston

3)      Rice

4)      SMU

5)      UTEP

6)      Tulane

Conference USA Title Game Winner: East Carolina


1)      Notre Dame

2)      Navy

3)      Western Kentucky

4)      Army

Mid-American Conference:

East Division:

1)      Bowling Green

2)      Miami-Ohio

3)      Kent State

4)      Temple

5)      Ohio

6)      Buffalo

7)      Akron

West Division:

1)      Ball State

2)      Central Michigan

3)      Western Michigan

4)      Toledo

5)      Eastern Michigan

6)      Northern Illinois

Mid-American Title Game Winner: Ball State

Mountain West Conference:

1)      Utah

2)      BYU

3)      TCU

4)      New Mexico

5)      Air Force

6)      San Diego State

7)      UNLV

8)      Wyoming

9)      Colorado State

Sun Belt Conference:

1)      Florida Atlantic

2)      Troy

3)      Louisiana-Monroe

4)      Middle Tennessee

5)      Arkansas State

6)      Louisiana-Lafayette

7)      North Texas

8)      Florida International

Western Athletic Conference:

1)      Fresno State

2)      Boise State

3)      Nevada

4)      Louisiana Tech

5)      New Mexico State

6)      San Jose State

7)      Hawaii

8)      Idaho

9)      Utah State