Breaking News: Big Ten To Split Ohio State and Michigan in Separate Divisions

Jeff ShullAnalyst ISeptember 1, 2010

COLUMBUS, OH - OCTOBER 25: Quarterback Terrell Pryor #2 of the Ohio State Buckeyes looks for an open receiver against the Penn State Nittany Lions on October 25, 2008 at Ohio Stadium in Columbus, Ohio.  (Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images)
Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

The decision to split Ohio State and Michigan, as well as the placement of all 12 teams in the new Big 10 in each division, was apparently decided on some point Monday.

With the announcement coming later this evening, sources are saying the biggest rivalry in college football will be split between the two divisions.

The divisions are said to be split as follows:

  • Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern, and Minnesota.
  • Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Purdue, Indiana, and Illinois

The official announcement is at 7 p.m, ET, along with the expectation of the conference continuing to have Ohio State and Michigan play every year, despite being in separate divisions.

They would be fools not to do so.

The main deciding factor behind the placement of each team was to keep some rivalries intact, such as Michigan-MSU and Penn St-Ohio State.

They are also not only expecting to showcase the OSU-Michigan game every year, but Wisconsin and Minnesota will face off each year as well.

The Big 10 has been criticized the past few years for being one of the weaker BCS conferences (unless you ask a Big 10 fan).

With the addition of Nebraska, who are on the rise with Bo Pelini calling the shots and have a terrific all around athletic program, they should start proving the critics wrong.

Information gathered from the ESPN's Andy Katz