USC Football: FWAA Vacates Trojan's 2004 Grantland Rice Trophy

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
USC Football: FWAA Vacates Trojan's 2004 Grantland Rice Trophy
Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images

The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has weighed in on the ongoing USC scandal.

Shockingly, the FWAA decided that USC's 2004 Grantland Rice Trophy should be revoked. The Trojans were awarded the trophy for their national football title that year.

The 2010 FWAA President Tim Griffin, citing the June 10 NCAA Infractions Report, notified USC of the FWAA's decisions.

"Had these facts been known, USC would not have been selected for the award," Griffin explained. "All finalists for FWAA team and individual awards, including the Grantland Rice Award and Trophy, reasonably are presumed to have been in material compliance with certain qualifying standards at the time of award issuance."

The announcement was made after the conclusions of the Resolutions Committee, comprising current and former FWAA officers, reviewed issues stemming from USC's recent NCAA football scandal. The vote was conducted by confidential ballot.

In addition to the trophy revocation, the team will be barred from consideration for the award following the 2010 college football season.

The Football Writers Association of America is an independent, not-for-profit organization comprised of nearly 1,500 journalists, broadcasters, and others college football pundits.

The Grantland Rice Trophy has been awarded continuously to its national champion since 1954.

The title spot for that year will be the only vacant one since the award's inception.

Prior to 2010, there has never been a prior revocation of a major national college football championship.

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM

Pac-12 Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.