Iowa Hawkeyes FootballDownload App

Iowa's Ricky Stanzi Named to 2010 O'Brien Award Watch List

STATE COLLEGE, PA - SEPTEMBER 26:  Ricky Stanzi #12 of the Iowa Hawkeyes throws a pass while playing the Penn State Nittnay Lions on September 26, 2009 at Beaver Stadium in State College, Pennsylvania. Iowa won the game 21-10. (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)
Gregory Shamus/Getty Images
B.Senior Analyst IJuly 14, 2010

For the second straight year, Iowa quarterback Ricky Stanzi finds himself on the Davey O’Brien Foundation's National Quarterback Award watch list.

The Davey O'Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious quarterback award in the country, and it's handed out every year to the nation's best college quarterback both on and off the field.

The O'Brien selection committee actually analyzes several factors when narrowing down their list, focusing on a quarterback's skills, athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, leadership, sportsmanship, and character.

Last year, Stanzi was one of 15 semi-finalists for the 2009 Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Year Award. 

As a junior, he finished the 2009 season with 2,417 yards and 17 touchdowns (despite missing two games) to go along with an Orange Bowl Championship and a 67 percent passing completion in the fourth quarter of play. 

Stanzi has passed for 4,373 career yards to rank sixth all-time at Iowa heading into his senior season. He has compiled an 18-4 record over last two seasons. 

Two Hawkeye quarterbacks have won the Davey O'Brien Award over the years. Chuck Long won the honor in 1985 and Brad Banks was the winner in 2002.

To go along with his O'Brien watch list selection, Stanzi was also selected to the 2010 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Watch List .

The Golden Arm Award goes beyond completion percentage and touchdowns, evaluating character, citizenship and integrity. If citizenship plays a factor, Stanzi is a lock to win.


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices