Iowa's Clayborn, Sash Land on 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

B.Senior Analyst IJune 21, 2010

MIAMI GARDENS, FL - JANUARY 05:  Adrian Clayborn #94 of the Iowa Hawkeyes rushes the quarterback against the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets during the FedEx Orange Bowl at Land Shark Stadium on January 5, 2010 in Miami Gardens, Florida.  (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)
Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

As the 2010 college football season quickly approaches, several notable awards are starting to release their "watch lists."

This year, the watch lists are peppered with the names of Iowa Hawkeye players.

The 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list features two well known Hawkeyes: DE Adrian Clayborn and S Tyler Sash.

Clayborn made a lasting impression on Big Ten fans in 2009. In addition to his Orange Bowl MVP and his First-Team All-Big Ten selection, Clayborn blocked a punt for a touchdown against Penn State which earned him Big Ten Player of the Week honors.

Clayborn finished the 2009 season second in the Big 10 in sacks, which tied him for ninth nationally. He was also third in the Big Ten in tackles-for-loss, which also has him ninth nationally.

The senior defensive end was also recently named to the prestigious Playboy magazine pre-season all-America team.

Sash joins Clayborn on the watch list.  

The junior safety was an All Big Ten selection last season, as well as a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award. He has 11 career interceptions for a school record for return yards with 350. Sash is on pace to break Nile Kinnick's career interception total, should he not decide to leave school early for greener fields in the NFL.

Sash was also placed on the 2010 Lott Trophy watch list.

The 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America to the nation's best defensive player.

The Nagurski Trophy Watch List showcases the "best and brightest" upcoming season's defensive players.  


Notable Big Ten Players on Watch List
Chris Borland, Wisconsin, LB
Adrian Clayborn, Iowa, DE
Cameron Heyward, Ohio State, DE
Ross Homan, Ohio State, LB
Greg Jones, Michigan State, LB
Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue, DE
Tyler Sash, Iowa, S
J.J. Watt, Wisconsin, DE