2014 SEC Football Media Days Attendees Announced

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
2014 SEC Football Media Days Attendees Announced
Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images

The SEC released the full list of attendees for its 2014 Football Media Days Wednesday afternoon, which can only mean one thing: It's officially almost almost-football season!

The four-day spectacle, which will take place this year from July 14-17 in its usual location, the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama, features press conferences from league commissioner Mike Slive, all 14 SEC head coaches and three players from each team.

Here is whom each program is bringing along:

SEC Media Days 2014: Full List of Attendees
Team (Head Coach) Player 1 Player 2 Player 3
Alabama (Nick Saban) DB Landon Collins WR Amari Cooper WR Christion Jones
Arkansas (Bret Bielema) OG Brey Cook DL Trey Flowers DB Alan Turner
Auburn (Gus Malzahn) QB Nick Marshall OC Reese Dismukes DL Gabe Wright
Florida (Will Muschamp) QB Jeff Driskel DL Dante Fowler DB Vernon Hargreaves III
Georgia (Mark Richt) WR Chris Conley RB Todd Gurley LB Ramik Wilson
Kentucky (Mark Stoops) DE Bud Dupree OT Jordan Swindle DE Za'Darius Smith
LSU (Les Miles) OT La'El Collins RB Terrence Magee LB D.J. Welter
Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze) DE CJ Johnson DB Cody Prewitt QB Bo Wallace
Mississippi St. (Dan Mullen) DB Jay Hughes LB Benardrick McKinney QB Dak Prescott
Missouri (Gary Pinkel) OC Evan Boehm DE Markus Golden QB Maty Mauk
South Carolina (Steve Spurrier) OG A.J. Cann DT J.T. Surratt QB Dylan Thompson
Tennessee (Butch Jones) OL Mack Crowder LB A.J. Johnson DE Curt Maggitt
Texas A&M (Kevin Sumlin) DB Deshazor Everett P Drew Kaser OT Cedric Ogbuehi
Vanderbilt (Derek Mason) DL Adam Butler TE Steven Scheu DB Andrew Williamson

Source: SEC Sports

Bleacher Report's Barrett Sallee hit on some of the notable player absences earlier in the day, listing the following as his top five:

  • QB Jacob Coker, Alabama
  • RB Mike Davis, South Carolina
  • QB Hutson Mason, Georgia
  • QB Brandon Harris, LSU
  • RB Kelvin Taylor, Florida

The quarterback omissions are disappointing but understandable. Coker, Mason and Harris are charged with replacing AJ McCarron, Aaron Murray and Zach Mettenberger, respectively, and no matter how prepared they are to face an SEC pass-rush, none of them is ready for the tsunami of reporters that waits in Hoover.

Seriously. Go ask Johnny Manziel.

Of the six quarterbacks who will not avoid the limelight of Media Days—Nick Marshall (Auburn), Jeff Driskel (Florida), Bo Wallace (Ole Miss), Dak Prescott (Mississippi State), Maty Mauk (Missouri) and Dylan Thompson (South Carolina)—only Mauk and Thompson have never been full-time starters. But they have started a few games apiece, including one against each other last season.

Also worth mentioning: Texas A&M has decided to bring its punter, Drew Kaser. I guess that's a fair reward after using him so infrequently last season, when the Aggies punted just 45 times.

Whose inclusion at Media Days are you guys most excited about? And which exclusion bums you out the most?

Sound off in the comments below.

Follow Alabama Crimson Tide Football from B/R on Facebook

Follow Alabama Crimson Tide Football from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Alabama Crimson Tide Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.