Oklahoma Sooners Football logoOklahoma Sooners Football

Oklahoma Dominates Big 12 Awards

Tyler KnowlesContributor IMay 20, 2009

The Big 12 Conference has been around for 13 years now, and has seen a numerous amount of success from its 12 schools. From excellent traditions and success on and off the field, the Big 12 is considered one of the most elite conferences in college athletics.

However, something happened in the 2008-2009 seasons. A shift in postseason awards that some would call an almost clean sweep. I am talking about the slew of Big 12 postseason awards brought in by University of Oklahoma Athletes.

Below lists all the 2008-2009 Postseason honors that University of Oklahoma athletes rilled in:

Sam Bradford: Big 12 Player of the Year (Football)

Travis Lewis: Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year (Football)

Jon Cooper: Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year (Football)

Blake Griffin: Big 12 Player of the Year (Men's Basketball)

Willie Warren: Big 12 Freshman of the Year (Men's Basketball)

Courtney Paris: Big 12 Player of the Year (Women's Basketball)

Whitney Hand: Big 12 Freshman of the Year (Women's Basketball)

J.T. Wise: Big 12 Player of the Year (Baseball)

Garrett Buechele: Big 12 Freshman of the Year (Baseball)

Amber Flores: Big 12 Player of the Year (Softball)

Ana-Maria Constantinescu: Big 12 Player of the Year (Women's Tennis)

Not to mention, three University of Oklahoma coaches wrapped up Big 12 Coach of the Year honors. The lists includes: Bob Stoops, Sheri Coale, Patty Gasso.

If that is not dominance, then I don't know what is.


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices