Biggest Snubs of 2013 College Football Hall of Fame

Randy ChambersAnalyst IOctober 12, 2016

Biggest Snubs of 2013 College Football Hall of Fame

0 of 5

    The 2013 College Football Hall of Fame class did not include a handful of great candidates. With a total of only 14 inductees out of the 82 nominated, this was guaranteed to happen. But some of the snubs were flat-out obvious.

    Some of these players changed the game as we know it, broke unbelievable records and left images in our minds that will live forever.

    Of course, everybody wasn't going to have their name called for this year's class, and many will likely be honored at a later date.

    However, here are this year's biggest snubs.

Brian Bosworth, LB, Oklahoma

1 of 5

    Brian Bosworth is the Dennis Rodman of the College Football Hall of Fame. You know, he deserves serious consideration, but his behavior off the field hurts his overall status. Most voters don't want to include a "bad boy" in such a prestigious group.

    Antics or not, Bosworth is one of the all-time great Sooners and was a big reason why they reached three straight Orange Bowls and won a national title in 1985. His impact on defense was unmatched, and his school-record 22 tackles in a game will likely never be broken.

    Bosworth was a three-time All-Big 8 selection, a two-time Butkus Award winner and a consensus All-American. Whether you like to admit it or not, he deserves to be remembered as a college football great.

Antwaan Randle El, QB, Indiana

2 of 5

    Antwaan Randle El played at Indiana from 1998 through 2001, which may have played a part in why he wasn't picked for this year's class. It's still a little too soon, as voters like to make guys wait a few years before considering them for induction.

    However, Randle El opened doors for the quarterbacks you see today. In becoming the first FBS player to pass for 6,000 yards and rush for 3,000 yards in a career, this flashy quarterback gave you a reason to watch the Hooisers play. When his career came to an end, his 3,895 rushing yards were the most ever by an FBS quarterback.

    Nowadays, you take an athletic quarterback for granted. But back then, Randle El was more of a novelty.

Derrick Thomas, LB, Alabama

3 of 5

    What does the former Alabama linebacker have to do to receive some love from the Hall of Fame?

    If you think SEC defenders are scary now, go back and watch Derrick Thomas play. A hard hitter and explosive player, Thomas got into the backfield in a hurry and instilled fear in opposing ball-carriers. He won the Butkus Award in 1988, setting an NCAA record with 27 sacks.

    Thomas was a unanimous first-team All-America selection and 1988 SEC Defensive Player of the Year. He was also one of the greatest linebackers of all time and deserves to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Eric Dickerson, RB, SMU

4 of 5

    Before Eric Dickerson made his mark in the NFL and eventually became a Hall of Famer, he was tearing things up in college. Rushing for a career 4,450 yards and 47 touchdowns, Dickerson finished third in the 1982 Heisman Trophy voting and still holds 14 SMU records.

    What is fascinating about Dickerson is that he shared carries for most of his career and still managed to top 1,000 rushing yards in his final two seasons. He was a two-time SWC Player of the Year and a unanimous first-team All-America in 1982.

    Dickerson had a unique combination of size and speed you didn’t see as often then as you do today. He was truly a running back who was ahead of his time.

Eric Crouch, QB, Nebraska

5 of 5

    Eric Crouch will have to wait his turn and likely wasn't inducted because Tommie Frazier, another Nebraska quarterback, finally heard his name called. Ivan Maisel of ESPN reported that there is a unwritten rule prohibiting the induction of a player from the same school in consecutive seasons.

    So it only makes sense that these same voters didn't want to include two Cornhusker quarterbacks in the same class, although that would have been pretty sweet. If this rule is known throughout the voting community, Crouch will likely miss the 2014 ballot as well. Ouch.

    Crouch, who holds the NCAA record for rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 59, was the Johnny Manziel and Cam Newton of his era. He won the Heisman Trophy in 2001 and led Nebraska to the championship game.

    He was the ultimate playmaker at the position. Of course, his 42-9 record as a starter wasn't too shabby, either.