College Football Awards 2012: Results, Winners and Analysis

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
College Football Awards 2012: Results, Winners and Analysis
Mike Zarrilli/Getty Images

Welcome to the major awards before the major award.

College football fans are undoubtedly excited for this weekend when the 78th—77th if you don't want to include that guy named Reggie Bush—Heisman Trophy award is handed out to the best player in the country, but on Thursday, we get a pretty darn good preview:

The Home Depot College Football Awards.

We've got the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, which often gives us a pretty good indication of how Saturday will go. Via ESPN Stats and Info:

We've got the Maxwell Award, given out to the most outstanding player; the Chuck Bednarik Award, given out to the best defensive player; the Biletnikoff Award, given out to the best wide receiver; the Doak Walker Award, given out to the best running back; the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the best defensive back; the Outland Trophy, given to the best interior lineman; the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award; and finally, the Ray Guy Award, given to the best punter.

The John Mackey Award for the nation's best tight end will also be recognized, but we already know the winner is Tyler Eifert of Notre Dame

Essentially, the nation's All-Star team will be revealed to us on Thursday night at 7:30 p.m. ET as several young studs take home some impressive hardware. 

For a complete look at the finalists for each award, check out Follow along here for an update as the winners are announced.


Award Winner School Year
Maxwell Manti Te'o Notre Dame Senior
Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Johnny Manziel Texas A&M Freshman 
Chuck Bednarik Manti Te'o Notre Dame Senior 
Biletnikoff Marqise Lee USC  Sophomore 
Doak Walker Montee Ball Wisconsin  Senior 
Jim Thorpe Johnthan Banks Mississippi State  Senior 
Outland Trophy Luke Joeckel Texas A&M  Junior
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Cairo Santos Tulane  Junior 
Ray Guy Ryan Allen  Louisiana Tech  Senior 
John Mackey Tyler Eifert Notre Dame Senior

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.