NBA Free Agency Tracker

Report: Melo to Return to NYK

Boston Celtics: The 50 Greatest Players in Franchise History

« Prev
1 of 52
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Boston Celtics: The 50 Greatest Players in Franchise History
Jim Rogash/Getty Images

The Boston Celtics have won 17 NBA Championships, more than any other team.  This includes 11-of-13 from 1957-1969 and eight in a row starting in 1958, a North American record for consecutive professional championships.

The Celtics have posted a winning record in 48 of 62 seasons.  They had 27 non losing win/loss records in succession from 1950-1976. 

Traditionally, the Celtics have always had a big three.

In the 1960s: Cousy, Jones, and Russell.

In the 1970s: Cowens, Havlicek, and White.

In the 1980s: Bird, McHale, and Parrish.

Starting in 1993, Boston posted losing records in eight consecutive seasons, putting them in an unfamiliar position—a team without a chance.

In recent years, the rise of a new big three has brought hope back to Beantown, with Paul Pierce, Kevin Garnett, and Ray Allen.

This list recognizes the top 50 players in Celtics history.  I based the list on the "Win Share" statistic available through

I only counted statistics for players while with the team (regular season and playoffs).

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories
Boston Celtics

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.