NBA Finals 2010: Presenting the Most Valuable Player Candidates

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
NBA Finals 2010: Presenting the Most Valuable Player Candidates
Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

With Game Six only hours away from liftoff, one question that most fans, analysts, and broadcasters have not brought about into discussion is who should be crowned the 2010 NBA Finals Most Valuable Player.

Many would say that if Boston wins championship the MVP award will be handed to Rajon Rondo, and for the Lakers, if they miraculously win back-to-back games at home the award would undoubtedly go to Kobe Bryant.


Rajon Rondo

Rondo has made a legitimate name for himself during the present postseason, averaging an outrageous 16.1 PPG, 9.4 APG, 5.5 RPG, and 1.95 SPG on 47.0 percent shooting from the field in 22 playoff games. 

While many are just now getting the opportunity to see Rondo play his impressive style of basketball, Celtics fans have known from the get-go just how good this little guy really is. 

After falling short during Game One of the finals , Ray Allen's 32 points and record-breaking eight three-pointers covered up just how much of an impact Rondo had on Game Two.

Rondo managed to drop his second triple-double of the playoffs, posting 19 points on 8-of-18 shooting, distributing 10 dimes, and hauling in 12 boards—in addition to two steals, one block shot, and one three-pointer.

Not to mention, with less than two minutes remaining in regulation and Boston up 93-90, the Celtics placed the ball in 24-year-old Rajon Rondo's hands.

He then drained arguably the biggest shot of his career, pushing Boston's lead to five, and ultimately carrying out the W at the Staples Center.

This Boston Celtics team is far from the squad it once was during the 07-08 season when they captured the NBA Finals trophy.

Rather than being referred to as the "Big Three," the Celtics are now alluded as Rajon Rondo's team.


Kobe Bryant

After completing the first round of the playoffs on a lousy 40.8 percent shooting from the floor, superstar Kobe Bryant stepped his game up to an unimaginable level.

During the next two rounds, Bryant averaged roughly 32.5 PPG, 7.0 APG, 5.5 RPG on an incredible 52.2 percent shooting from the field. 

The Black Mamba has now scored 30 or more points in 14 of the 21 games played in the postseason and three of the five games played in the NBA Finals. (he is one of the all-time NBA leaders in most 30+ point performances in the NBA Finals.)

He is averaging 30.2 PPG, 4.4 APG, 6.0 RPG, 2.0 SPG, and 1.0 BPG, shooting 42.5 percent from the field and 92.1 percent from the charity stripe in the five games played thus far in this series.

In Game Four Bryant went off for 19 points in the third quarter (only six points short of the record) completing the unfortunate loss with an amazing 38-point performance.

Bryant has carried the Los Angeles Lakers on his shoulders and looks to turn-around the current 3-2 game deficit and come out victorious.


So Who Will Win This Year's Most Valuable Player Award?

That's for you to decide!

But even if Kobe Bryant doesn't win the championship, what's stopping him from being awarded the 2010 NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award?

In 1969 the Boston Celtics defeated the Los Angeles Lakers in a seven-game series and the Lakers' Jerry West was awarded the MVP trophy.

West is the only player in NBA history to do so.

If you liked this article please be sure to check out more of Brandon's content at

Load More Stories

Follow Los Angeles Lakers from B/R on Facebook

Follow Los Angeles Lakers from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Out of Bounds

Los Angeles Lakers

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.