How To Determine The 2010 NBA MVP: An Analysis Of The Past 10 Winners

« Prev
1 of 14
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
How To Determine The 2010 NBA MVP: An Analysis Of The Past 10 Winners
Jim Rogash/Getty Images

Around this time of the NBA season one begins to hear rumbles of favorites for the various regular season awards. 

Blake Griffin for rookie of the year.

Most improved player: Love, Westbrook, Aldrige, Beasley

The most discussed award, for good reason, is the Maurice Podoloff Trophy which is awarded to the leagues Most Valuable Player.  The most coveted individual award in the league has gone to many Hall of Famers since it's inception after the 1955-56 season including; Kareem Abdul-Jabbar a record six times, and Michael Jordan and Bill Russell tied with 5 apiece.

But what is it that seals the deal for these talented award recipients?

Is it overall team success?  Individual importance to your team?  Points per game average?  Triple double count?  Number of posterizing throw-downs?

Of course a number of factors must be weighed to accurately determine the NBA's true "most valuable player" but there is no simple formula to plug all the numbers into.  The winner is determined by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters who each bring their own individual opinion, and vote, to the table.

We will explore the NBA MVPs over the past ten years weighing their performances against each other.  Then, using this analysis, we will attempt to determine this seasons most likely winner if the voting were to happen today.

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories

Follow Miami Heat from B/R on Facebook

Follow Miami Heat from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Out of Bounds

Miami Heat

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.