NBA Slam Dunk Contest 2013: Full List of Participants and Predictions

Justin OnslowContributor IIFebruary 7, 2013

The high-flying action of the NBA Slam Dunk Contest is unmatched by any All-Star spectacle in the world of sports. Nothing is off limits, and as we’ve seen in the past, going big isn’t an option—it’s a requirement.

The field of six has been determined for the 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk Contest. Every player has a little something different to offer—including last year’s champion, Jazz forward Jeremy Evans.

Here are the participating players in this year's event:

Evans won’t be the only former champion participating in the competition. Gerald Green won it in 2007, and it’s hard to envision a scenario in which the two former champs don’t completely obliterate the bar they both raised in the past. A win from either of the two will cement them among a group of incredible players who won the award multiple times, including Michael Jordan and Nate Robinson.


Prediction: Kenneth Faried

Fans have come to expect outrageous, rim-rattling and otherwise absurd displays of freakish athleticism every year in the dunk contest. They won’t be disappointed this time around, either.

There’s a pretty good chance we see a former champion repeat this year, but the smart money is on Kenneth Faried. The Nuggets big man can absolutely destroy the rim, and we’re certain to see him throw it down harder than anyone else in the competition.

This year's contest will have a lot to live up to, but as we've seen every year, the sky isn't the limit for the best dunkers on the planet.