With 1:14 remaining in the fourth quarter, Billups flopped on a three-point attempt, drew the foul on Jazz point guard Mo Williams and hit two free throws.
The freebies made the score 99-99, and the Clippers ultimately won 105-104.
The flop was even more unsavory than your run-of-the-mill flop because of when it happened in the game, but the move did secure a victory. When it comes time for the postseason, the victory will be noted in the win and loss columns, while the flop will be forgotten as the seeds are handed out.
For that reason, it was well worth it for the Clippers, regardless of the penalty.
According to a report from USA Today, Jazz head coach Tyrone Corbin did his best to keep his composure after the game had concluded, saying, "Big call. The referees saw it a different way but I thought we did everything we could to challenge the shot."
There is reason to believe that there was a foul on the play, as Williams does appear to make contact with Billups' leg. But it was Mr. Big Shot's reaction to the apparent graze between him and Williams that sold it to the officials.
According to the rules outlined by the NBA, a warning is the worst that can happen to Billups on his first offense. There's no guarantee he'll even be issued that.
For those unfamiliar with the league's process of handling flop-related fines, the following is from a press release (via NBA.com):
Violation 1: Warning
Violation 2: $5,000 fine
Violation 3: $10,000 fine
Violation 4: $15,000 fine
Violation 5: $30,000 fine
For those who haven't seen it, here is a video of the play in question: